We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I recently traveled to knoxville to visit with family in the hospital at fort sanders. I didn't have to use the car until I departed. The front desk employees were so friendly. They told me all the great places to eat with in walking distance. They even have a little shuttle to take you places.the room was very nice and the bed was huge. The front desk manager was great to help us find what room our brother was in and gave us a ride to the hospital.I will definitely tell all my friends were to stay when they go to the games here.Thank you Hilton for a great visit.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Laserhlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 773 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

A large group of friends met for a long football weekend in Knoxville and stayed at this HGI. The property is extremely new, having had its grand opening in mid-October 2013 (as we learned from a member of the housekeeping staff). It's readily apparent to me that the General Manager (Tracy) is focused on customer satisfaction after meeting with her about a minor billing dispute and seeing the employees in action.

When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Marlee at the front desk who remembered us throughout the entire weekend. As mentioned in other posts, the hotel is valet only. This didn't present a problem because Dexter and his crew of valet attendants were always out front and ready to assist.

The hotel lobby has a nice seating area that doubles as the restaurant/bar seating. The restaurant has a full kitchen and is available from early morning until 11pm for food service, including a breakfast buffet. The bar is fully stocked and offers some interesting cocktail specials. There is a outdoor seating area complete with fire pit right outside of the bar area.

The bar/restaurant wait staff was very attentive (thanks Lydia and Alexander), even as our large group sat and watched a Saturday evening football game on the flat screen TVs. The hotel even had a guy singing and playing acoustic guitar in the bar area on Friday and Saturday nights.

We didn't spend a lot of times in the rooms, but they were fresh and comfortable. The new LED TVs were connected to high definition HD service through DirecTV and the Keurig coffee maker was a nice touch. Due to it's location in the middle of a commercial area, the views from this property aren't anything to write home about.

In addition to the wonderful staff, the location is the other great feature of this hotel. It's located behind the Krystal's and McDonald's on the east end of The Strip. This was great for our group as we walked to various stores, restaurants, and bars during our stay. The hotel offers a shuttle service to locations within close proximity of the hotel, but we never took advantage of this offering. On Saturday, we walked to Neyland Stadium for the game, a short trip that took us about 12 minutes.

As we were checking out on Sunday and getting a complimentary coffee to go, we bumped into the hotel's owner. He was a down to earth guy that also seemed to care deeply about the quality of our stay. From top to bottom, you won't be disappointed with the service nor the stay at this property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwilson793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great hotel! Maybe the newest hotel in the city, perfect for the people to desire watch a Vols game in the Neyland Stadium. The room is good, the service is good. Maybe a litte bit more option in the Room service will be great!

There is a lot of restaurants close to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't want a loud, choose a unpaired room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafaeleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel was very nice, great location, friendly staff. Shuttle service was a plus, although there was some confusion as to it running on weekends. The person who checked us in told us about the service and the next morning, after we had given away our parking pass to an event, the person told us they don't normally run on weekends. She did, however, take us to our destination without a problem and was more than cordial about it. Our only complain is the $100 they charge on our credit card upon arrival and do not remove for close to a week. .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel met my expectations for Hilton Garden Inn. Staff was professional and courteous, hotel was new so no problems with room or amenities. The bar and restaurant came in handy when I just needed a quick bite and relax instead of going out. I recommend this hotel if you are in Knoxville Tennessee area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great location in the heart of UTs campus. Within walking distance of the "strip", dorms and Neyland Stadium. New, clean, and comfortable facility. Will stay here again. Use UT parents association membership discount to make the price competitive and affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is an excellent property. Our experience was not excellent because of two things, otherwise it would have been. 1. Check in was extremely slow and aggravating. 2. The shower doors are installed incorrectly and allow water to escape from shower onto the floor. So additional trips to the bathroom leave your feet wet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#24 of 87 in Knoxville
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University

Address: 1706 Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37916-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range: $117 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the center of Knoxville's downtown on historic Cumberland Avenue near campus, is the newly opened Hilton Garden Inn University. Featuring 24-hour valet parking, complimentary business services and internet services, we offer travelers the convenience of a full-service restaurant and bar (including outdoor seating with firepit), indoor meeting space, conversatory off the main lobby and 24-hour Pavilion Pantry. Come and see for yourself what everyone in Knoxville is talking about! We are proud to be the 2014 winner of Excellence from TripAdvisor!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Campus Hotel Knoxville
Days Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing