We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way over-rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Way over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

Trip Advisor and the reviews rating the place as #2 out of 83 places in Knoxville sure did not fit our experience. Wouldn't stay there again or recommend it as such. We stayed two nights. The hotel is about 15 miles from downtown K'ville and certainly not worth going that far out for this hotel, if your focus of the visit is in K'ville as was ours--- to go to a UT football goame and vist our son and his girl friend who live and work in K'ville.

The corridors were noisy with teenagers and younger playing up and down the halls and in the elevators. We had to use the steps from tjhe 3rd floor, although we could hear kids laughing and playing in the elevator--the one elevator in the hotel.

When we checked in, we found the room itself was okay but it was not well serviced e.g. no soap or shampooo, the coffee maker leaked when you filled it and the toilet ran constantly with every other flush. When we rasied these issues, they were promptly addressed. You just expect a place rated #2 of 83 not to have those kind of problems and charge almost $100/night plus taxes.

The breakfast, rated so highly in another review , was "average" at best . We have stayed at many similar places where the breakfasts were much better.

Just to put this in perspective, we are very exeperiened travelers and stayed at similar place as well as top of the line places. This hotel is not a 2 of 83. It is typical 2.5 star with clean rooms.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    62
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
54
53
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

We have just stayed here two nights on our way to Memphis. Booked our room directly through the Baymont Inn website and got a fabulous rate. David on reception was very friendly and helpful on our arrival. The lobby was very nice, clean and welcoming. We had a 2 queen size bed room that was huge and perfect for us & our 2 kids. Beds were very comfortable, sheets clean & bed coverings very modern and the room was spotless. Cream coloured towels in excellent condition and working air-conditioner.
The free breakfast was excellent, muffins, cereal, donuts, porridge, yoghurt, toast, waffles, Danish pastries, fruit, hot & cold beverages and the lady who runs it was very friendly.
Lovely clean pool area, husband and kids went for swim. Pool is open until 11:00pm.
Free complimentary USAToday newspaper.
Location was perfect, just off the interstate and close to the Turkey Creek shopping centre which has Wal-mart, Target and many eateries.
There is an awesome family restaurant next door called Wild Wings Cafe.
We were very impressed with this hotel and would highly recommend to all travellers visiting the Knoxville area. Well done Baymont Inn & Suites keep up the great work.

  • Liked — Huge room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank starshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for one night while visiting Knoxville. The hotel is on the western edge of Knoxville.

The room and hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly. The location was good, being close to the interstate and not too far from a nice shopping/restaurant/movie theater area. I have no complaints, though there was not anything particularly outstanding, either (we didn't try the breakfast). I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southerner
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2007

I stayed here with friends while Christmas shopping in Knoxville. The staff was great! The room excellent! Ours was directly across from the fitness room and close to front desk, another plus! By far the best continental breakfast I have had. Gravy and biscuits, waffles that you make yourself, juices, coffee, milk, pastries, donuts, cereal, muffins, you name it. Will stay here again the next time I am in Knoxville.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank SOKYWOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2006

We stopped at the Baymont after a long day of driving. We were very pleased with what we found inside. Our room was very clean & modern. The bed & pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom itself was just a little snug but had a large sink/counter area. We were pleased with the continental breakfast the next morning....enjoyed the waffles. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank viva_las_vegas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

We stayed here while attending a regatta in Oak Ridge. It was maybe 15 minutes away, and well worth the drive to save over half the cost of an Oak Ridge hotel. The Baymont was spotless, had very comfortable pillows, and ok beds. The breakfast was very good and included made to order waffles, biscuits and sausage gravy, cereal, fruit and pastries at no charge. We didn't get to use the pool but it looked clear and inviting. The room appeared to be brand new. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and will stay again in future years.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knoxville
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Knoxville-West
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville West
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Turkey Creek / Farragut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville West-Farragut
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Knoxville
Candlewood Suites Knoxville
#31 of 87 in Knoxville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites
Address: 11341 Campbell Lakes Dr, Knoxville, TN 37934-1655 (Formerly Baymont Inn And Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Kognitiv US Corp and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Baymont Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing