We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports Bar, Family Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Double Dogs

Double Dogs
Ranked #75 of 1,165 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just open in December 2010. Only other location is in Bowling Green, KY. Please add "sports bar" in your list of restaurant categories
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sports Bar, Family Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Surrounded by televisions set on all the sports going on on any given day, and with a full bar, this is still a very family place....my grandgirls love this place...and they have an excellent child's menu.
From salads, burgers, pizza, they have wide variety, something for everyone...been here several times, different days and times and they always have a crowd...service has always been excellent. If you are going for an intimate conversation, go somewhere else, this is a fast paced fun place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleygirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    51
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place for friends and families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This Double Dogs is in an upcoming area of town. There is not a lot else there right now but it is in a small shopping center right off Pellissippi Parkway. They have reasonably priced foods and several low cost popular burger/fry or hotdog/fry combos. They have a cute dog theme and serve kids meals in dog bowls! Try the chicken pot pie...it is real good and served in a skillet pan. This place is a bar/ pub kind of place but there are plenty of tables , booths, and high tops to sit with family and friends. Most every time I have been has been to enjoy time with family or friends and this place is great for that. There are many TVs to watch and they even open up the side so you can eat outside and still be part of the restaurant with the TVs. The food overall is pretty good, the staff is accommodating, and the place is a fun place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2doglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
393 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Watch out for the dog house...lol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My staff and I eat at Double Dogs a lot, they have a great lunch menu and the best service around, Traci, Page, Katie and all the other servers are friendly and always smiling. It's a great place to have an adult beverage or just hang out with friends to watch a game, TV's all around, a view from any seat in the house, oh and COLD beer... Go on over and give it a try. The best anywhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Modern Sports Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The family all had a good meal here last night, classic sports bar menu with an extensive beer list and unique options on tap. Kids' meals are served in a big silver "doggy bowl" style plate, quite hilarious. TV's everywhere, possibly even too many if that's achievable. East side of the restaurant is primarily garage doors that function, I imagine in the spring time that means the patio area is partial outside seating. Prices are fair but not cheap, one negative is the al a carte side dishes instead of including fries. But overall our experience was good, will probably go back again someday. If you're wondering about the wings, they were good but not the best I've ever eaten, and not very big on this particular night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very Fun Place to Have Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I had a late lunch at Double Dogs as we wanted to try this new restaurant in Knoxville. It had quite a bit of seating with garage doors that on a pretty day would open up a large portion of seating to the outdoors. Would be pretty nice on a summer evening. It is a family place with lots of neat menu choices for kids, but it can be very loud and does have a very lively bar that is in the same seating area. The interior was clever and fun to see. We did not realize that they had many more alcoholic beverages than we first thought and just got a regular brand beer. Turns out our menu was missing on the table that told all of the choices. They had some unusual fare in a burger type place such as chicken pot pie and Asian pasta salad. I got a mushroom with Swiss burger and the pasta salad as a side. My husband got pork tenderloin with onion rings. We both liked our food very well except the pasta salad was a little on the bland side. It is a very fun place to have lunch or a casual dinner. Children would like it too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Double Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing