We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Cruise on Saturday”

Star of Knoxville Riverboat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Star of Knoxville Riverboat is an authentic 325-passenger sternwheel riverboat offering sightseeing, lunch, dinner, entertainment and moonlight cruises along the Tennessee River.
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Dinner Cruise on Saturday”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was a very nice experience. It was relaxing, the food was good, and everything was exactly on time. We were seated next to a lovely couple and enjoyed our conversation with them. The DJ played great songs which we were able to hear, but that were not so loud you couldn't talk. The food was surprisingly good for a buffet. The prime rib was as good as any I have had and our server was attentive and pleasant. Considering you are getting dinner and a "show" the price is reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    12
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, LA
Level Contributor
535 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon on the river”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We took the grandkids on the lunch cruise. The food was better than I expected. They served a hot buffet lunch with good salad, mashed potatoes, green beans, corn and a nice chicken breast dish along with iced tea and an excellent strawberry cobbler for dessert. We enjoyed the day and lovely views of homes and natural beauty of the river bluffs. Be aware that there is alot of road construction in Downtown Knoxville, so get specific directions and allow plenty of time to get there - don't depend on the GPS as it does not reconize detours, etc. We came close to missing the boat but glad we didn't as it was a fun trip. Be sure to take a couple of bread rolls with you to feed the river cat fish and geese that are waiting at the gangplank as you get off of the boat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NewOrleansfirstgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch cruise on th Star of Knoxville.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family took the lunch cruise on the Star of Knoxville and were delighted with the food and service. The lunch buffet was good with salad, three vegetables, chicken, rolls, tea or coffee and wonderful cheese cake. The river bank rolling by as we ate make a wonderful sight. We had our disabled daughter with us.and she had not troube getting on and off the boat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NCTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Do Again”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I took a luncheon cruise today. The service was great and the food was outstanding. We were expecting the food to be mediocre at best, but it was delicious. The gospel trio "Sunday Drive" provided a mix of country, tv themes, gospel and 60's music for entertainment. They were excellent. Don't miss this attraction!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank OHDogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tennessee Riverboat Company”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Yesterday, my wife and I were on the look-out for more fun things to do in and around Knoxville. The weather was glorious and it seemed like a wonderful day for a riverboat cruise.

We contacted the Tennessee Riverboat Company by phone and asked about the afternoon excursion aboard the authentic paddle-wheel boat Star of Knoxville. With AAA discounts available, we were able to purchase two tickets for the 90 minute cruise for under $35 total.

The captain, a silver-haired veteran of the waterways of the south, greeted each passenger personally before lining each up for the required passport photo which were later offered in a souvenir binder, available for separate purchase.

We began the cruise by passing under the Gay Street Bridge, which I was surprised to learn was built in 1897. It has been so well-maintained that I didn't see even a hint of rust on the green members as we passed under it.

We then passed under the Henley Street Bridge which is in the midst of a modern renovation. The Henley Street Bridge is the site of the annual 3-day Labor Day fireworks extravaganza called Boomsday and said to be the largest pyrotechnic display in the United States.

The crew members were social and friendly, and helpful during the cruise. As we headed downstream on the Tennessee River, the captain narrated the tour with useful bits of knowledge, scattered with light-hearted half-truths about ghosts, hauntings and other such trivia.

The city views from the water gave a great perspective as to how beautiful the Knoxville skyline is. I can only imagine what it would look like from the water during the December evening dinner cruises.

The banks of the river are lined with massive limestone, covered with native vines and trees so densley verdant and incredibly beautiful. We cruised past the University of Tennessee (Go VOLS!) where picture postcard perfect shots of Neyland Stadium and Boling Arena were taken. We cruised under several roadway and railway bridges, past stately mansions set on the hills, and the infamous University of Tennessee Body Farm where forensic research is conducted on decomposing human corpses!

The Star of Knoxville has many types of cruises including lunch, dinners, dance cruises, jazz cruises and Gospel cruises. A full bar is available at all times except on Gospel cruises. The first level of the riverboat is fully enclosed. The second level is completely open, yet fully covered.

For a great way to see Knoxville from the water, contact the Tennessee Riverboat Company to book your tour today.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Urbanzenmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of Knoxville Riverboat also viewed

 

Been to Star of Knoxville Riverboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing