We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formerly Le Perigo, love the new wine and light food”
Review of iCafe - CLOSED

iCafe
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Formerly Le Perigo, love the new wine and light food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Formerly Le Perigo, small french restaurant with great food.

The new theme is very Euro. Wine bar with GREAT small plate food selection made to order. We love this idea. Before or after a show or movie! The atmosphere is romantic, although the seating cold be more comfortable, the bar seating is very good.

Give it a try

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Was a Great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a great little French Restaurant but struggled to survive. They have now converted to a new style restaurant that seems to focus on their bar and small dishes. Sad loss to Knoxville. Have not tried the new fare. Hope the conversion will permit them to succeed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Timetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were in Knoxville for a night and had a few choices to chhose from for dinner. We're pretty selective on restaurants since we have some of the best restaurants in the US. This place did not disappoint. The food was beautifully presented and tasted just as wonderful as it's appearance. The service was also impeccable. Strongly would recommend!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcikins1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Special Restaurant in Downtown Knoxville”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Downtown Knoxville is entering an unofficial phase 2 of its miraculous revitalization, one in which downtown life is vibrant, sidewalks are teeming with people, residential population has grown by leaps and bounds, and many new businesses are testing the waters and opening. In the last 10 years, the downtown went from just a few restaurants (including the wonderful and persevering Tomato Head) to literally dozens. Fortunately, as the revitalization matures, diners are beginning to recognize that a majority of these efforts, while popular, are average or mediocre at best in terms of cuisine and service.

There are exceptions to the usual and Le Parigo on Clinch Street is definitely one. This small intimate restaurant, a block away from the bustle of Market Square, stands head and shoulders above the rest in downtown in both quality of cuisine and the style of service.

The restaurant has only 10 or 12 tables, some on the front patio. The chef is the owner and there is generally only one or two other serving people; the cuisine is traditional French on a nicely scaled menu. Prices reflect the quality. I strongly, strongly suggest reservations or calling ahead if at the last minute. This allows their limited infrastructure to adjust to business and maintain quality.

Service is deliberately paced, so some diners may find this off-putting while others will relish the relaxed atmosphere. The quality of ingredients is top-level; preparation and presentation is solid, but not pretentious. On my two visits, every appetizer and every entree have been perfect. The scallops are one of their noteworthy dishes; I also highly recommend their vegetarian entree which varies seasonally based on ingredients and the chef's whim. My friends loved the escargot appetizer. The wine list is small and exclusively French, but with excellent choices.

For the time being, Le Parigo is THE choice for great dining in downtown Knoxville.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJWillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ouch!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The food is quite good, especially for Knoxville. Just saying. High end European fare. But the service is awful and the owners are rude, rude. In fact, the owners were so rude to a person who eats there weekly and took me as a guest, that I never went back. I don't like being treated badly anywhere.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank JMac020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iCafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing