We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful food!”
Review of Coolato Gelato

Coolato Gelato
Ranked #2 of 40 Dessert in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful food!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at CG. My husband had the smoked turkey, avocado, tomato chutney on multigrain bread with a side of fruit and thoroughly enjoyed it. He's not a "sandwich guy" so I was concerned that he wouldn't be happy; I couldn't have been more wrong! I had the Italian sandwich with pepperoni and cheese and olives with a side of pasta salad (some of the best I've ever had). Delicious. We finished the meal with a dish of chocolate gelato and a dish of peach-raspberry sorbet. Really, if I could afford it, I'd eat there every night! And their menu is varied enough to keep me interested!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonjawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    47
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good gelato, nicer staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enough has been said about the gelato in previous reviews- It taste good and is a welcome treat on a hot day. I wanted to add a few tips that might be helpful.

Tip 1- Nice, clean restroom in the back of the restaurant. Technically for customer’s only, but they seem pretty laid back and friendly.

Tip 2- This place actually has a small but very pleasant deck out back and along the side for outdoor seating when the weather is nice. There are tables and chairs out front for sure, but for something more private look out back or along the side of the building.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PairOBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good but pricey”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The gelato is fresh, authentic and very good with a great selection. Always a good stop for a light desert after a show or dinner downtown

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TN-Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The gelato..... Omg.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This little place is fantastic. Cute inside. Service was very good. The woman behind the counter was working her first day and was super friendly. I sampled the birthday cake, and chocolate , and ordered the peanut butter and chocolate. All three were wonderful. The chocolate sorbeto was dark and rich and a little better and just beautiful. The birthday cake was exactly like the name and the peanut better and chocolate tasted just like its name .it was creamy and wonderful. My husband got a piece of the Lemocello and was a little disappointed. I thought it was okay. My husband loves the Lemocello from Cheesecake factory and this didn't have as much strong flavor and the lady fingers tasted a little old. Overall, wonderful place. They have beautiful sandwiches and quiches. I will return here when I come back to Knoxville

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellebelle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The food is amazing but they are usually very busy and the service isn't that friendly. The last time I was there, I ordered something off the menu and the man behind the counter was very gruff with me when he told me they were out of it. I then felt very rushed to order something else. The food was great, but rude staff might convince me to stop at the other great eateries downtown.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ktcopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolato Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Coolato Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing