We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Romantic Excursion in Knoxville”

Volunteer Princess Cruises
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Romantic Excursion in Knoxville”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I treated ourselves to a Christmas cruise aboard the Volunteer Princess in downtown Knoxville. The crew was outstanding, the ship was enclosed and cozy. The lighting was perfect, and the music was very romantic. We cruised south on the Tennessee River for about 1 hour and then turned around. The Christmas lights were mesmerizing. One couple on board actually got engaged during the cruise! There was plenty of room, plus privacy. You don't have to sit with strangers either. Give it a try, you'll be glad you did! By the way, we ate the chicken and love it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Unionsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    16
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Volunteer Princess Cruises Pricey”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you get a Groupon, the dinner cruise is half off ($51.75 for 2, normal charge is $91.90 for 2). But you have additional charges on the cruise = $8.50 in taxes, Drinks & Appitizers are an additional charge and Tips are an additional charge. With the lighting inside, You really do not see much on the night cruise we went on. I would suggest a day cruise to see the sights along the banks of the river. Overall, the food was good. The price with the Groupon was reasonable, but if you paid full price for this cruise, it would be highly overpriced for what you get.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Volunteer princess cruise”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It was a very pleasant trip. The workers answered all of my questions. The ship was Clean and the food was delicious. My only problem was the windows because we couldn't see out. I thought the value was excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
“Extremely rude owner.”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I am a local sound engineer for local bands. One of the bands that I work with was recently booked to play a private party on The Princess by a local business. Mr. LeMasurier was unnecessarily rude not only to myself but the band and even the band members wives. Not only once, but on at least 4 separate occasions he practically yelled at us to clean up cases and the like as we were setting up. He also would not allow some of our coats on the backs of chairs at our table. Furthermore he would not even allow me to store my Bose speaker covers on his boat. They had to be left on the dock. Just those covers would cost almost $500 to replace. I had $10,000 (not including the bands personal gear)worth of equipment and I am a trained professional yet this man spoke to me like I was some pimple faced kid with a karaoke system. The food was o.k. actually and the service was fair. I just want people to know how unprofessionally we were treated. He may treat his guests well but I feel for anyone employed by this man.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food; Outstanding service”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We boarded the Volunteer Princess for a rehearsal dinner. The staff was very accommodating from the start of booking and throughout our communication. The food was delicious especially the cheesecake. The potato bar added a nice touch and allowed for mingling before dinner. I would highly recommend the Volunteer Princess for any occasion based on our experience. We would love to do it again but no more weddings on the horizon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliciaJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volunteer Princess Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Volunteer Princess Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing