We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park, more than just sunsphere”
Review of World's Fair Park

World's Fair Park
Ranked #4 of 194 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice park, more than just sunsphere”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a pretty nice park. There's more than just the sunsphere (which is awesome in its own right). But there are also green spaces, and fountains, and a playground on one end of the park. On the other end, there's a nice sidewalk that runs all the way down past the convention center, with a cool bridge to walk over and some more nice views of the sunsphere.

There's also an amphitheater where they sometimes have shows.

The only tough part is that there isn't a lot of parking nearby. It was a few minute walk from the lot when I finally found parking (up past the hotel and the playground)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jfranco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    172
    70
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We would agree- urban paradise”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

They say the World’s Fair Park is an urban paradise and we would agree. The park area is very large and was designed to support several events at one time. The lawns are beautiful; there are man-made lakes, streams and waterfalls. At one end there is a wonderful playground and a large fountain where children can play. We were not here for an event but just enjoyed the walk. You could tell that the children in the area were all having a wonderful time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebbieVandalia_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pretty and Plain”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

While it is pretty here and can be a great spot for festivals and pictures it can be pretty plain on an average day! I wouldn't necessarily walk through here at night, but in the day it can be a nice place to toss a ball or to read a book!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JandTLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck River, TN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok to walk around in”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was extremely excited to visit this area before taking the trip. I would love to have attended a World's Fair and wish there was a modern day worlds fair. Visiting the Sunsphere was the only thing I preplanned and wanted to do while visiting Knoxville. It was neat to view 360 around city below - had a few trivia facts about the World's Fair If you have little ones it might not be for them. 7 year old son refused to leave wall and look out. That was about it for the park. It was large though from end to end. Couldn't walk on grassways - redoing them. There were a few vagrants hanging out so husband didn't feel safe letting my son and myself return on our own the next day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a beautiful park, children from a camp were playing in the fountain. It's easy to walk around

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World's Fair Park also viewed

 

Been to World's Fair Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing