We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best red velvet cake”

Ye Olde Steak House
Ranked #81 of 1,193 Restaurants in Knoxville
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“best red velvet cake”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I got the stuffed filet of soul and it was delicious. We went for my birthday and they gave me a piece of red velvet cake that was warmed. It was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Tnvol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    84
    52
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So Much Delicious Food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Opens at 4:00 p.m. we got there about 6:30 and the line was long. Inside service is very fast. Food is incredible and there is a lot of it. Salads are wonderful. Cheese and crackers on the table. Fresh baked bread basket on table was kept full. Didn't have to ask for anything to be brought to the table. Someone was always watching for drinks or bread to get low and instantly brought more. Slight problem with one of our orders. Staff response more than made up for one small error where the order got delivered to someone else. Can't say enough praises for this place. Kind of pricey but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Ye Olde Steak House. Our first visit was years ago and went well. This visit however was a different story. Our server was awful, not sure if she was having an off night or if she was just that bad.

We had a reservation so we were seated immediately upon arrival. Our drinks were served quickly. However the wait time between being seated and the server actually taking our order was way too long. We never received our appetizer, even though we reminded the server about it twice. One of our meals was never ordered, meaning the rest of us were almost done with our food by the time that person finally got their food. At one point we had to get up and refill our own coffee. When the server would come to the table and we would ask a question or ask for refills she would look at us like a deer in the headlights.

Eventually another server, a very nice man, came and took our desert order.

The food was decent. The rib-eyes were tasty, but not cooked right. On two of the 1/2 was cooked right and the other 1/2 was not. Deserts were very good, we had the key lime pie.

All in all we probably won't go back. We are okay with paying for an expensive meal (appx $30 for a steak and everything is ala cart) as long as we get the level of service that goes along with that price. This was not the case for us. With the delays in service, missing food, etc you would have thought a manager would have visited the table to apologize. That never happened.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good steak, great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The food was good and the atmosphere was better. This place feels like an old style steakhouse. Nothing fancy, not a "prime steak" restaurant but a good steak for the money. Much better than any of the mid level chain steak places. The steaks are large, well cooked and very flavorful. I also had the mushrooms as a side and they were excellent. They are cooked on the grill and had a great charcoal flavor. I would recommend this restaurant. I'll be going back my next trip to knoxville.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tidetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eating at Ye Olde Steakhouse”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a great time with friends. The atmosphere was wonderful and congenial. The baked potatoes were incredible. Made up for the little-tough steaks. Service was great

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ye Olde Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing