We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 4

Cafe 4
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe 4 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,166 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Union Avenue
Description: Cafe 4 entered the downtown scene almost a decade ago, truly becoming a pioneer in Knoxville's substantial urban revitalization. Unbelievable to those who have only seen Market Square in its enlivened state, downtown Knoxville was anything but desirable at the time of Cafe 4's founding. The restaurant was birthed from a desire to bring light to a dark place, and the transformation that has taken place since has been truly remarkable. The front doors open up to the restaurant and a cozy mezzanine bar that is frequented by coffee drinkers, cocktail lovers, conversationalists, and passers by. The back of the building is home of The Square Room, an elegant space used for concerts and events. Swing buy for a cupcake, a cup of locally roasted coffee, or have a seat at the cafe. You're sure to be greeted with southern hospitality and urban taste.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for Kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cute, hip restaurant. They were completely overwhelmed by the 28 of us (even with a reservation).
Nice for couples or a small group.
They couldn't wait until we left (actually we heard them say that).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    265
    67
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great atmosphere, good food selection and wonderful waiters are just some of the reasons you'll enjoying dining at Cafe 4. It's a great place to gather with friends and enjoy the charm of Downtown Knoxville.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VA_Cameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
290 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Consistent great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This restaurant is in a great location in downtown Knoxville and has consistent great food. Allow enough time for dessert and a leisurely stroll in the historic downtown area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DNvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely little place in market square.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have lived in Knoxville a long time and until recently have not made the trip down to market square. That has all changed after I visited a few places here. I have heard about Cafe 4 for a long time but now I think I will be a frequent visitor. This was such a change from all the nice chain restaurants we have. I felt like I was in another city with all the excitement around. The food was excellent and my server was great. My friends had the salmon and I had a salad with salmon. It was all wonderful and I will be back and it will be often. Free parking on the weekends in market square garage but it was almost full so come see this busy fun area of Knoxville.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funnyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everything that I have ever tried at Cafe 4 has been excellent. The menu changes often, but the Lobster Mac & Cheese is a staple and a must-try. The atmosphere is warm, inviting, and very comfortable. Both the feel of the interior and the presentation and taste of the food would indicate an upscale restaurant but the prices are reasonable and the setting is casual enough to be comfortable for lunch or dinner any day while also being great for a "night out." Definitely highly recommended as one of my favorite places to eat in Knoxville.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 4 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing