We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed there for a dog show weekend. The first thing that happened was that on check-in there was a sign posted about pet fees. First pet free, then $20 per pet after that. Well, right off the bat I was pissed. There was NOTHING on the website about a pet fee, RR states pets stay free. Anyway, after my comment about the website, check in person asked if we were in town for the dog show and since we were, they were waiving the pet fee - so after that there was nothing to complain about, and I had 5 dogs.

Other than that, everything was great. the room was big w/ 2 queens. The breakfast was fine (waffles, sausage, sausage biscuits, coffee, milk, juice, donuts, grits, oatmeal. We opted to eat the breakfast to save some money. The staff in the breakfast area was extremely nice and grateful that we were staying and invited us to stay again. I know they have to say that to everyone but its nice to hear.

I left my key card at the show site and the staff was nice about giving me another key. Although I felt they should have asked for ID because all I did was tell them a room number.

Overall, great place to stay, clean. We did not use the indoor pool but I did walk down the hall on 1st floor and there was really an overwhelming smell of chlorine, so I wondered if inside the pool room if the chlorine was even worse. I would not recommend a room on the 1st floor on the pool side. Also, maybe next time, I'll get a room on the back side...maybe that will cut out some of the interstate noise.

Room Tip: avoid 1st floor on pool side - strong smell of chlorine. ask for room on back side - may cut some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that you enjoyed the local dog show. We appreciate all of your comments. We are also looking into your concern about the strong chlorine smell from the pool . Thanks for your concern. We use your comments to improve on our service for you and future guests to our hotel.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope that you will come stay with us again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 313 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked a family stay at this Red Roof Inn for a nearby wedding. We had booked online at the AAA price, but were able to rebook at a lower price thanks to a sale email we received from Red Roof Inns the week before our arrival. So be sure you sign up for their email list! Red Roof often sends offers via email. We were happy this one applied to our stay!

We had a very large room with two queen beds, tv, work table, coffeemaker, and free wi-fi internet. The room was clean; the bedding and pillows were comfortable. The tv was an older model, but it worked well and had a fine selection of channels. The room was well-lit and had a lot of power outlets for plugging in cell phones, cameras, computers, etc.

The bathroom was on the small side, but not cramped. The sink, shower, and toilet are in the same room. Water pressure was fine, but the plumbing is LOUD.

The staff -- including various front desk personnel, housekeeping, and breakfast staff -- was very friendly and helpful. We asked for extra towels and got way more than we could ever use.

Breakfast consisted of fresh make-yourself waffles, bagels and donuts, oatmeal, a couple cereals, microwave sausage biscuits, yogurt, fresh fruit, and more. As is typical, it was very carby.

Knoxville is fairly close to home for us, so we will probably not need to use this hotel again. But I would recommend it to travelers needing one or more nights accommodations along I-40 in Knoxville.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have taken all of your comments, and have passed them on to our staff. We are very happy that you received such a great deal with our email program.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Room was clean and tidy, extremely low priced.
Continental breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmsenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. We appreciate your time and hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I had read many good reviews here about this hotel while planning my trip to Knoxville, but I had never stayed at a Red Roof Inn and was unsure of what I would find - especially since the rate was much less than other hotels I have stayed in. I traveled with 3 teenagers. We were all happy with our stay. The hotel was clean, simple, but nice decor. The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub.
There is no elevator, roll away bed, and we didn't have a fridge or micro, but we didn't expect that. The breakfast was good - slightly fewer options than Hampton Inn - had waffles, sausage biscuits, cereal, toast, donuts, yogurt, juice.
Our room was right over the entrance to the hotel, I thought we'd hear all sorts of noises, but it was very quiet. The biggest complaint would be that the shower from the room next door was pretty loud.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends who may be going to Knoxville.

Room Tip: no elevator, so if you don't like stairs, choose first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyD120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments and concerns will be passed on to our management staff. We always like to know how our customers are feeling about their stays. Your comments help us improve our service to you and to future guests to our hotel. We strive has a hotel to provide a safe, clean, and comfortable place to stay.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope you will come visit us again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were on our way home from vacationing and decided to grab a room off the interstate. I was really hesitant due to not so pleasant experience on the first night of our vaction when we did the same thing. The clerk checking us in was very friendly, the pool and jacuzzi were clean, our room as neat and clean, breakfast was good, and the hostess was gracious. We could see the sign from the interstate but the inn was a little hard to find but was worth the effort. Most of our vacation was spent in hotels costing 4 times as much but I could have been happy staying in a similar inn to this one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for mentioning our employees. We will pass these comments on to them. They always feel more appreciated when they hear good comments.

Convenient to so many Knoxville attractions and businesses! Knoxville East Red Roof Inn & Suites is also within a half hour drive of the Smoky Mountains, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge!

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again soon in Knoxville!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for overnight on long trip. We were very pleased w/ our 1 brm suite for @$68 total. For the price the room was great and very spacious. Plenty of room for our toddler to run and run after long drive. Mini frig and microwave worked fine. Room had a table to eat at w/ 4 chairs. Separate bedroom w/ door and own tv was nice. All doors in the unit are lever handles which can be an issue if traveling w/ little ones. Older son enjoyed the indoor pool, which the front desk okayed for him to go after hours if he was quiet.

The night we stayed it was completely full due to power outages in area. It was still quiet. Cable was out due to storms, but when we got it the next morning it had a large variety of channels, even for kids. Internet worked well in room even w/ cable out. Breakfast was a smaller selection than some more expensive chains, but had enough. W/ price you pay for the room, you could go out to eat and still be ahead. Breakfast included 3 cereals, biscuits and gravy, SPICY sausage patties, make your waffles. No yogurt or protein besides the spicy spicy sausage. The lady tried to keep up as best she could considering the place was full w/ lots of families. There was a long wait for the one waffle maker which I'm sure usually isn't as bad when not crowded.

The main con was lack of an elevator to get to the suite. If staying again we would pack differently. We did have a lot of gear for our little one and food that other travelers might not have.

Over all very pleased for what we got for the price and will stay again if going through.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maryavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay. We appreciate all your comments and concerns about your room. We will be passing them on to our staff. Your comments help us improve our hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place for our guests to stay.

Convenient to so many Knoxville attractions and businesses! Knoxville East Red Roof Inn & Suites is also within a half hour drive of the Smoky Mountains, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge! We’re within a 15 minute drive to Knoxville Center Mall and cinema, the University of Tennessee, the Knoxville Zoo, Downtown Knoxville, St. Mary’s Hospital, and the Knoxville Convention Center.

Thanks again for your great comments, and we hope to see you again in Knoxville!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I was very impressed in the condition of the hotel and loved the room. The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet and clean. Although, one thing to mention. My suitcase was rather large and I was on the second floor so I wasn't sure if there was an elevator so I had to schlep my luggage up a flight of stairs. :(

Room Tip: Having a AAA membership helps with the rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cici587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments about your room is very much appreciated. We will pass those comments on to our staff. Unfortunately we do not have an elevator at this hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you again for your time and we hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to Knoxville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
10.7 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Knoxville
Motel 6 Knoxville
#53 of 87 in Knoxville
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Strawberry Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites East
20.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Knoxville
Candlewood Suites Knoxville
#36 of 87 in Knoxville
144 reviews
10.7 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East

Address: 7525 Crosswood Blvd, Knoxville, TN 37924-3935
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: $67 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to so many Knoxville attractions and businesses! Knoxville East Red Roof Inn & Suites is also within a half hour drive of the Smoky Mountains, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge! We’re within a 15 minute drive to Knoxville Center Mall and cinema, the University of Tennessee, the Knoxville Zoo, Downtown Knoxville, St. Mary’s Hospital, and the Knoxville Convention Center. For sports fans, UT’s Neyland Stadium is also within 15 minutes, while Douglas Lake and some great golf courses are also within 20 minutes. Making the Smoky Mountains part of your trip? The Smokies and all the attractions of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg—Dollywood and Ripley’s Aquarium, to name a few-- are just a half hour away. Red Roof Knoxville East also has many great restaurants nearby. Come and enjoy our southern hospitality! Knoxville East Red Roof Inn and Suites features a free continental breakfast, a sparkling indoor pool, interior corridors, a guest business center with PC and printer, a fitness facility, a coin operated guest laundry, snack centers and vending machines, tours and attractions info, and wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms feature in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, irons with ironing boards, as well as a wide selection of network and cable TV stations and data ports. Our 14 suite rooms also feature microwaves and mini-fridges. Plentiful free parking is available for cars, trucks, vans, semis, buses, and motor coaches. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing