We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple Grove Inn

Maple Grove Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoxville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maple Grove Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Knoxville B&B and Inns
Maine
1 review
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

After reading wildly mixed reviews, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this location was head and shoulders above the other Knoxville bed and breakfast with Maple in its name: the Maplehurst Inn. Maplehurst was much less expensive, but dirty. It is unfortunate that the names are similar. The Maple Grove is a beautiful location.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank TwoOldCrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

Just returned from a weekend stay in the most expensive room -the Oak Suite. Although the room was rather large, it needed much work. The room door had to be slammed in order for it to close completely. The carpet had several stains and the room smelled very bad. The bathroom door handle was close to falling off and was in need of a deep cleaning.

The Inn had several broken windows, brick was crumbling, the pool was disgusting, and the reflection pool had an extreme amount of algae. The yard maintenance was virtually nonexistant. Although the yard had been mowed, all bushes needed attention.

There were also linens and cardboard boxes on the porch the entire weekend.

I had booked this room as a surprised for my husbands birthday, and I can definately say we will not be back- nor will I recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momasmurf2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband and I actually live in Knoxville and have held our company Christmas Party at Maple Grove about 8 years ago. We were at a wedding there about 7 years ago. The place was a beautiful historic home that Knoxville was very well known for.

Now fast forward to this month...we went there for a little overnight for our Anniversary....I was utterly shocked.
First, it looks NOTHING like it used to!! The landscaping is virtually nonexistent...not a flower to be seen. The beautiful white home with ivy down the front has now been stripped of all the ivy and painted a hideous tan color.
We stayed in the nicest suite, which was a bargain at $200 per night. It was very pretty and spaceous, with a beautiful bed. But, the enclosed patio was so filthy and disgusting we couldn't have possibly sat on it. The firecplace wasn't working. The tv was literally from the 1970's with a twistknob. Another door from our room led to a courtyard area which was cluttered with leaves, dirt and actual bags of garbage!! The ceiling of our room had tons of water damage and the entire room and bathroom was in need of many repairs.So, we pretty much holed up in our room and didn't venure out.

The breakfast was very good. You pretty much tell the cook what you want to eat. He whipped up a greek omelet which was great.

This is a very sad situation because this is supposed to be a beautiful historic home and it is falling apart. We will not go back and we will not recommend for anyone we know to either stay there, host a party there or get married there until it is treated to much needed improvements and given the TLC that it deserves.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Knoxtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

While this property is quaint and charming like something out of a Southern romance novel, the problems outweigh its character. I'll outline the problems below:

1) The smell of natural gas from the various fireplace gas pilots and the large gas-fueled restaurant-sized kitchen rises to the rooms. It made our throats hurt after the first night.

2) We never met the innkeepers/owners. Our only contact was with the maintenance man and the resident of the pool house. The maintenance man was doubling as the chef in the morning (how weird is that!) and the pool house resident was doubling as the innkeeper. The maintenance man didn't fix an appetizing breakfast on the days we were there. Sad.

3) The place needs a good cleaning and some serious maintenance. Other reviewers here have noted this. I can appreciate that it's the oldest house in Knoxville, but why does it have to look this rundown?

4) It became clear to us over our stay that the Maple Grove owners can't decide whether they want to be a Wedding Chapel, gourmet restaurant, or a B&B. We felt that they spend more time doting over restaurant clients and wedding reception plans than the guests of the B&B.

5) They don't mention the train when you make your reservation. Maple Grove Inn sits near a main train line and at the sounds of the trains and their horns seem like they're coming right through the inn. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, then this isn't it.

  • Liked — Architectural charm
  • Disliked — Overall unpleasantness of the stay
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank See-Us_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2005

I just stayed at the Maple Grove a few nights ago, for two nights. I was in Knoxville on business and a friend suggested I stay there.

What an experience! I felt I was in Gone with the Wind. I stayed in the Maple Suite, which was bigger than the apartment I used to live in in NYC. The room was really spacious, with a great four-post bed. Very nice marble bath too.

I think I was the only guest in the place, which made it pretty quiet (though there was an incessant buzzing in the room that made it impossible to sleep without ear plugs).

The people working at the B&B were very polite and friendly. Real Southern hospitality. And they cooked up a big yummy breakfast each morning.

Definitely a good mid-week bet. Also seemed like a very nice romantic getaway, though I was there alone on business.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2004

Stayed at the Maple Grove Inn in 2003. Expecting the same quality as other Select Registry properties, we were very disappointed.

Upon arrival, it was not clear which door should be used to check in. A young man was eating fried chicken at a table, and it turned out he was the greeter.

The room (dogwood) was large and the bed was comfortable, but dead bugs were in the windowsills, and the bathroom needed some updating. Chipped and flaking paint.

The landscaping lacked a lot. There were flower pots with only weeds in them. The herb garden was sparse. Grass needed mowing in many placed throughout the property.

The pool was a disaster. The poolhouse was in major disrepair, the green plastic chairs very faded and some painted over with green paint that showed the fading even more. The pool was dirty-looking. I never saw a guest get it in. Probably the same concerns about it that I had. Many walked down to it with swim suits on, only to look around and leave.

The breakfast was good, but the young man who served it had no reply to our pleasant greeting of "good morning." He just looked at us and asked if we wanted orange juice. We asked him a brief question about the history of the inn, and he gave maybe a five word answer.

The young lady who was the offical receptionist was the only one the Inn that appeared to have any kind of hospitality industry skills, and she was not there the whole time.

If you are looking for a nice, charming, friendly country inn, you may be very disappointed. There is potential for this to become that kind of property, but investments in both the physical facility and hospitality training are needed.

Helpful?
13 Thank MargNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Ga
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2003

We have stayed at the Inn several times. Wonderful staff and all the rooms are great. Love the porch swing and rocking chairs. The best breakfast you will get in Knoxville.

Helpful?
Thank Geaneva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
9.4 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
9.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#38 of 87 in Knoxville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Knoxville West
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Bluff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Grove Inn

Property: Maple Grove Inn
Address: 8800 Westland Dr, Knoxville, TN 37923-6501
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Knoxville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Maple Grove Hotel Knoxville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing