We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Knoxville
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Friendly staff. Clean comfortable rooms. A group of 35 people traveling by bus and everyone enjoyed the hotel. It is hard to please everyone but everyone was happy with this hotel. I arrange group travel and would definitely use this hotel nest time I am in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to here your group enjoyed their stay with us. It was a pleasure having you and your group and hope to have you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    104
    37
    10
    16
See reviews for
117
65
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I liked the location, as it's close to the interstate, yet near to everything else in town. Some of the rooms have balconies, and the guests were relaxing that particular afternoon. The staff was friendly, and acted like a concierge, suggesting sites to visit and dining spots. The room was clean and spacious, which was the opposite of what I expected based on a couple of reviewers. The free WiFi is fast (and doesn't follow the model some chains have, touting "free internet" and baiting you to pay a fee for "premium" service or be doomed to a connection so slow you'll beg for 28.8 dial up). The places to eat are within walking distance, and there's an Ingle's grocery store around the corner, for the room has a full fridge and cooking area. The breakfast was varied and filling. The stay set the benchmark for the rest of my vacation across four states, and everyone else had to measure up to the great value and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMSeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We thank you for your positive feedback and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We strive to offer each and every guest a clean, comfortable and unforgettable stay. It is wonderful to hear when we have done just that.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I arrived really late and needed a room for 2 days the gentleman that checked us in gave me a great discounted rate cause I was kinda on a budget. Everyone was very attentive and helpful. Great place to stay will definetly go back next time I am in town

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoshi1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you were able to take advantage of the great amenities we have to offer here at Mainstay Suites such as our 24 hour fitness center, business center and on site laundry. Not to forget our complimentary hot breakfast each morning.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is the only location in Knoxville TN, that my husband and I will stay at. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rate are great. We stay at this location for our family reunions, monthly classmates get together. We are so please with this location that we don't call any other to check prices. You can't go wrong with the staff and location of this motel.

I give it a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: We stay on both side of the motel but we prefer the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us, yet again another great review. We are so pleased that you and your husband continue to stay with us each and every time you are in the Knoxville area. It is also such a pleasure to have you.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Terrible, room smelled awful, everything was dingy and dirty.

Continental Breakfast-what a joke. Coffee pot was broken, breakfast was cold. The man working the desk could have cared less.

DONT STAY HERE

Room Tip: stay any where but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank djinva88 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. In order for us to proceed with correcting any issues your room may have had we do need to know which room was occupied during your recent stay. If you could please contact us directly with that information so that we may proceed accordingly.

We do apologize our breakfast was not up to your standards. We do have several items served daily which would include Sausage, biscuits, gravy, bagels, toasts, hot oatmeal, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals. On select days throughout the week we serve scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuits in place of the sausage and gravy.
Our coffee machine did go down at the start of breakfast early last week. This was an issue that was resolved before the days end. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope you were able to take advantage of the coffee maker offered in your room.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed one night. Room was clean and spacious but mattress was bowed in the middle a bit so not really comfortable for two people. Nice touch to offer water and snack in the lobby in the evening. Breakfast was modest but we could find something to start the day. Staff were pleasant and responsive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JPMMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize if the mattress was uncomfortable. This concern will be passed onto our maintenance department so that the room can be inspected.
Thank you again and we hope you will continue to choose Mainstay suites when visiting the Knoxville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The rooms are huge and served our large family very well. Note however that you do not get cleaning service every day. We were there 4 days and our trash( which was considerable considering the number of people we had, including baby diapers) was not removed at all. Beds are only made up every 4 days. Bathrooms were not cleaned. You can request light housekeeping, which we didn't do. Just don't expect to come home after a long day and find a clean room. Otherwise the staff was wonderful and helpful and for the price it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large. The two room suites only have ac in the bedroom with a wall fan to circulate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the size of your room. We do apologize for the mix up on your housekeeping service. Here at Mainstay Suites all guests staying between 1-4 nights do receive housekeeping service daily. Only extended stay guests which would be those staying 5+ nights would receive service every 4th day unless otherwise requested. With that said you should have received your daily service being that your family was only here 4 nights. I do apologize for you not receiving your service and will look into why this happened.
We thank you again and hope you will continue to choose Mainstay Suites when visiting the Knoxville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#27 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#48 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Knoxville Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#40 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Knoxville

Property: MainStay Suites Knoxville
Address: 144 Merchant Dr, Knoxville, TN 37912-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to East Tennessee make us your home away from home. Our countless amenities and courteous staff are sure to please. All rooms feature Fully equipped kitchens and 32" LCD televisions. Our property features an onsite Laundry facility, 24 hour fitness center and business center. Free parking, Wi-Fi and hot breakfast provided each morning. We pride our self on providing a memorable stay in a favorable way at the Mainstay Suites Knoxville. Our 86 room extended stay hotel is conveniently located 4 miles north of downtown Knoxville, the Knoxville Convention center and the University of Tennessee, also located directly off Interstate 75. Many corporate offices are located within minutes of our property including Sysco, Regal entertainment group, Kimberly-Clark, Pilot flying J, TVA and Y-12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing