We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MainStay Suites Knoxville
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
1 review
“Awesome hotel!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I arrived really late and needed a room for 2 days the gentleman that checked us in gave me a great discounted rate cause I was kinda on a budget. Everyone was very attentive and helpful. Great place to stay will definetly go back next time I am in town

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoshi1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you were able to take advantage of the great amenities we have to offer here at Mainstay Suites such as our 24 hour fitness center, business center and on site laundry. Not to forget our complimentary hot breakfast each morning.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    112
    41
    10
    17
See reviews for
130
68
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is the only location in Knoxville TN, that my husband and I will stay at. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rate are great. We stay at this location for our family reunions, monthly classmates get together. We are so please with this location that we don't call any other to check prices. You can't go wrong with the staff and location of this motel.

I give it a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: We stay on both side of the motel but we prefer the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us, yet again another great review. We are so pleased that you and your husband continue to stay with us each and every time you are in the Knoxville area. It is also such a pleasure to have you.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Terrible, room smelled awful, everything was dingy and dirty.

Continental Breakfast-what a joke. Coffee pot was broken, breakfast was cold. The man working the desk could have cared less.

DONT STAY HERE

Room Tip: stay any where but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank djinva88 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. In order for us to proceed with correcting any issues your room may have had we do need to know which room was occupied during your recent stay. If you could please contact us directly with that information so that we may proceed accordingly.

We do apologize our breakfast was not up to your standards. We do have several items served daily which would include Sausage, biscuits, gravy, bagels, toasts, hot oatmeal, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals. On select days throughout the week we serve scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuits in place of the sausage and gravy.
Our coffee machine did go down at the start of breakfast early last week. This was an issue that was resolved before the days end. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope you were able to take advantage of the coffee maker offered in your room.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed one night. Room was clean and spacious but mattress was bowed in the middle a bit so not really comfortable for two people. Nice touch to offer water and snack in the lobby in the evening. Breakfast was modest but we could find something to start the day. Staff were pleasant and responsive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JPMMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize if the mattress was uncomfortable. This concern will be passed onto our maintenance department so that the room can be inspected.
Thank you again and we hope you will continue to choose Mainstay suites when visiting the Knoxville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The rooms are huge and served our large family very well. Note however that you do not get cleaning service every day. We were there 4 days and our trash( which was considerable considering the number of people we had, including baby diapers) was not removed at all. Beds are only made up every 4 days. Bathrooms were not cleaned. You can request light housekeeping, which we didn't do. Just don't expect to come home after a long day and find a clean room. Otherwise the staff was wonderful and helpful and for the price it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large. The two room suites only have ac in the bedroom with a wall fan to circulate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the size of your room. We do apologize for the mix up on your housekeeping service. Here at Mainstay Suites all guests staying between 1-4 nights do receive housekeeping service daily. Only extended stay guests which would be those staying 5+ nights would receive service every 4th day unless otherwise requested. With that said you should have received your daily service being that your family was only here 4 nights. I do apologize for you not receiving your service and will look into why this happened.
We thank you again and hope you will continue to choose Mainstay Suites when visiting the Knoxville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was surprised to find such a nice staff and nice place. I booked three rooms for my crew and myself through a third party. The reservation from Hotwire was all wrong as they on had one bed set up for every two of my construction workers. The staff helped us out of this mess. Once we entered the rooms, we each found them very clean and well equipped. We will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. A downfall with booking with third party sites would be that your reservation may not always come through the way you anticipated it to. It is always best to call the hotel directly for reservations. However we are glad we were able to make the necessary changes to allow you and your crew a more comfortable stay.

Thank you again and we hope to have you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

It is an excellent hotel, especially for 2 1/2 stars. We booked through name your own price on priceline and won this hotel for $62. We were VERY pleased. It was a very clean, cute, updated room. It even had a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator. Although we didn't need it, it would be a nice added amenity for someone who does. My only complaint about the room was the curtains. There is a transparent curtain covering the entire window but at night all the lights from the surrounding businesses shine very brightly into the room. My husband had to tie the drapes together with a shirt and one of my ponytail holders to keep the light out. It worked but this is something the hotel management needs to address. We also thought the breakfast was rather disappointing. They had "already made" waffles, mini muffins, oatmeal, two types of cearel and biscuits and gravy that didn't look so good. We skipped out on the breakfast. The hotel also need to improve the quality of the breakfast to be on par with the quality of the rooms. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay and would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank runner1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I did want to take a moment to address the issue you mentioned you had with the curtains in the room. All rooms do feature 3 types of curtains. The long floor length decorative curtains, followed by the sheer curtains you mentioned and then a set of black out curtains which would be found directly behind those. We apologize if you were not able to see them. Sometimes when opened completely, they are beyond view to those who do not know they are there.
I will bring this up with housekeeping to ensure these curtains are kept open to a view-able point to guests. Your comments regarding our breakfast have also been heard and we will make any necessary improvements.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#29 of 86 in Knoxville
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Near Downtown Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#58 of 86 in Knoxville
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#47 of 86 in Knoxville
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Knoxville

Property: MainStay Suites Knoxville
Address: 144 Merchant Dr, Knoxville, TN 37912-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to East Tennessee make us your home away from home. Our countless amenities and courteous staff are sure to please. All rooms feature Fully equipped kitchens and 32" LCD televisions. Our property features an onsite Laundry facility, 24 hour fitness center and business center. Free parking, Wi-Fi and hot breakfast provided each morning. We pride our self on providing a memorable stay in a favorable way at the Mainstay Suites Knoxville. Our 86 room extended stay hotel is conveniently located 4 miles north of downtown Knoxville, the Knoxville Convention center and the University of Tennessee, also located directly off Interstate 75. Many corporate offices are located within minutes of our property including Sysco, Regal entertainment group, Kimberly-Clark, Pilot flying J, TVA and Y-12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing