We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Knoxville
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was very pleased with our stay of 4 nights at the Mainstay Suites. It was clean and comfortable. Close to the highway and was about a 7 min. trip to the University of Tennessee. The breakfast could have gone a bit longer since I had a teen with me. But I just grabbed something for her and heated it up in the microwave. The workout equipment was fair but good enough. At least I did something. Staff was accommodating since I always needed extra towels. Nice visit, would highly recommend/

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our breakfast hours do run from 6am-9am, 7 days a week. We do apologize if this was not convenient for your family and will look into your suggestion to extend those hours.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 370 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

I've stayed here before and have always found it to be a good value and I have always received good service. On my most recent visit last week, I found the hotel with the same furnishings as when I began staying there almost five years ago. The furnishings are starting to show age and the rooms could use some renovation. However, the room and linens were extraordinarily clean. The room was quiet and I had a great night's sleep. This time, I received IMPECCABLE SERVICE from the hotel staff. Talk about going the extra mile for anything that I needed! That is just what they did. The person on duty on Wednesday afternoon/evening, May 14, 2014 could write a book on service. She deserves employee of the month.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im2blikgsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and once again found our service to be above all. We strive to offer each and every guest the best possible service and it is always nice to hear that our staff is doing just that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The staff was very friendly, but the hotel is showing it's age. The elevator got stuck and would not operate 2 different times and the AC unit was obnoxiously loud. Pillows seemed to be rationed and staff had to go to the "basement" to look for an additional pillow after we were told the hotel was out of extra pillows (but they found several for us?). We did not eat breakfast, so no comments to that.
I think this is the last time I will book a hotel in advance to save a few bucks. The pictures look decent on the site, but the feeling is different when you arrive. I should have paid the extra $20 to stay further down the road in Knoxville in a better hotel.
One last comment is to avoid the floor with the full kitchen if possible. We were "upgraded" to a room with a full kitchen (why, I don't know - we only stayed one night). Another family was cooking and while I am sure their meal was nice, the smell was not something that neither my wife or I wanted to experience. We ended up using a towel to help seal the bottom of the door to minimize the smell into our room.

Room Tip: Avoid floors with rooms that have full kitchens. Food smells from other people cooking in their roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately we were experiencing difficulties with our elevator but this has now been resolved. We did want to bring to your attention that here at Mainstay Suites all rooms do feature a fully equipped kitchen as we are an extended stay property.
Again we apologize and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Mainstay Suites Knoxville! The rooms were just like they look on the website, the breakfast was plentiful, and the staff was top notch! Miss Carol was so nice and took care of our every need! We even asked for a couple special things and the staff made them happen without a blink or hesitation! The rooms are larger than the usual hotel room and it made the room so comfortable. The full size fridge was AWESOME!! Price was incredible! The best hotel value we've had in years! When we return to Knoxville, we will stay here!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyTriathlonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are glad to see you enjoyed the amazing space our rooms have to offer. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The rooms were great! Lovely, clean and modern. I was really impressed with everything in the room, especially for the price! TV, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, hotplates and a toaster! Great value, I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a great value.
We hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The staff was great especially Jeannie and India. The breakfast was very good. Although I don't go to Knoxville often (I was there for college graduation), I would definitely stay at MainStay Suites again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

We thank you for your positive comments and so are pleased to hear you found your stay to be very enjoyable. Congratulations to your new graduate and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our first time at a MainStay hotel. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The kitchen facilities a nice bonus. Location was perfect - right off the interstate (but quiet) - walk to restaurants. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#29 of 87 in Knoxville
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#47 of 87 in Knoxville
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#63 of 87 in Knoxville
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Near Downtown Knoxville
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Knoxville

Address: 144 Merchant Dr, Knoxville, TN 37912-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range: $81 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to East Tennessee make us your home away from home. Our countless amenities and courteous staff are sure to please. All rooms feature Fully equipped kitchens and 32" LCD televisions. Our property features an onsite Laundry facility, 24 hour fitness center and business center. Free parking, Wi-Fi and hot breakfast provided each morning. We pride our self on providing a memorable stay in a favorable way at the Mainstay Suites Knoxville. Our 86 room extended stay hotel is conveniently located 4 miles north of downtown Knoxville, the Knoxville Convention center and the University of Tennessee, also located directly off Interstate 75. Many corporate offices are located within minutes of our property including Sysco, Regal entertainment group, Kimberly-Clark, Pilot flying J, TVA and Y-12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing