We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great reviews for a reason”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
arlington tx
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great reviews for a reason”
Reviewed December 31, 2008

This hotel has had great reviews because they earn it. Front desk employee very nice at check in. Rooms clean and large. Breakfast decent and plenty of it. Pool area very nice Reasonable priced snacks and vending machines

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    82
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
90
64
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham AL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We were expecting to pass through Knoxville on our way to Virginia for Thanksgiving (actually, the day after); this was a good stopping point. We checked online reviews on Trip Advisor and found them very promising. Our stay agreed with the reviews. Even though we arrived after midnight (having let the hotel know earlier in the day we would come at around 11 pm), the desk person was cheerful. We picked this hotel because it is pet friendly, and she had a nice "gift basket" for our little dog.
Very clean, comfortable, space outdoors to walk the dog. Very friendly staff in the morning breakfast area.

We would definitely come back again.

  • Liked — Very modern, clean, and pet friendly.
  • Disliked — Location not all that attractive, but not bad either.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vwmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg,MI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

A friend and I spent one night at this HIE on our way from Charlotte,N. Carolina back to Michigan. We had spent the day in Asheville and were very tired and hungry on arrival. The gal at the front desk looked up all the local restrauants that were still open on the computer for us. The room was comfortable with 2 queen beds and a nicely arranged bathroom setup. Breakfast was carefully monitored. When we asked the attendant in the breakfast room about a local detour she went to the front desk, picked up a map and pointed out how we could avoid the detour. One thing in particular stuck out at this hotel was the fall decorations of flowers, pumpkins at the entryway, lobby and breakfast room which showed an attempt to present a homey, welcoming touch.. Would defininitly stay there again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

I have stayed at this HIE twice in 2008 and would highly recommend it.

The hotel is in great shape, both the interior and the rooms themselves. Beds are very comfortable.

Internet works good, which is important if you are a business traveler.

Breakfast was good,standard HIE and the breakfast room is large, which some HIE don't have.

Staff was very nice.

This is a good place to stay in Knoxville.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BhamBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

It is difficult for me to get excited about a Holiday Inn Express but this place was really great. It is new and everything is in good shape. Friendly staff. Nice indoor swimming pool. Beds comfortable. I usually do not sleep well in hotels but I slept wonderfully here. Location is a bit odd, it is a mix of hotels, truck stops and fast food on the outskirts of Knoxville, but the property seemed safe and was quiet - just far enough back from the highway to be quiet. Several restaurants are nearby, we were recommended to Puleo's which was very good. Watch out for construction on IH-40 as you get closer to Knoxville, if you are just passing through like we were, be sure to take the 640 loop. Interstate 40 is completely closed in downtown Knoxville until 2009.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bloomfield
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2008

This place was worse then bad. Rude front desk lady, Like most high school kids carded more about her cell phone then guests. Room smelled terrible. Had to get re roomed 2 times. The room looked clean just had a weird oder. Breakfast host was real nice and friendly. The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. Replace the fake eggs with real eggs please. On my way back home stayed at the Comfort suits at the same exit. They are very nice and the room rates are the same. Will stay there from now on. Holiday Inn Express get new front desk staff and a better breakfast and try to use some glade or lysol for those nasty rooms.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — front desk lady
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patsfan1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Wonderful stay for a quick overnight before heading into the Smokies. Hotel seemed to be well maintained and the staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. It's a bit off the beaten path so there's lots of peace and quiet. Beds were extra comfy with nice linens - pool is small but in good shape and a welcome relief after a long hot day. Their breakfast includes some hot selections including those cinnamon rolls, as an added bonus there were warm cookies in the lobby in the early evening.

  • Liked — Warm Cookies!!
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville-East
Hampton Inn Knoxville-East
#18 of 86 in Knoxville
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Strawberry Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#36 of 86 in Knoxville
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville East
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Knoxville West - Papermill Dr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains

Property: Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains
Address: 730 Rufus Graham Rd, Knoxville, TN 37924-4338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East, Strawberry Plains.The perfect blend of friendly meets functional and corporate meets comfort at this Knoxville hotel.Whether you need to be near the University of TN for every Volunteer Football game; in the Great Smoky Mountains for hiking, biking and a trip to Dollywood; or near the Forks of the River Industrial Park for a busy work week; the Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East will keep you close and convenient without being in the crowded city. Our location off I-40, Exit 398, will also give you easy access to all the attractions in Gatlinburg, the car shows in Pigeon Forge, and give you a direct route to all the Nascar races in Bristol that you can handle.We know you will 'Stay Smart' while using our 24 hour fitness center and the heated, indoor pool. You may also choose to relax with a cinnamon roll, omlet, & bacon in our comfy hospitality room for our 'Stay Smart Express Breakfast', or catch up on some work in our 24 hour business center with our FREE wired & wireless HSIA. The Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East also offers fine dining nearby at the Outback Steakhouse, Puleo's Grille & Ruby Tuesday's. Remember, your pet is also welcome at our Knoxville hotel.This Knoxville hotel has the best to offer for location, comfort, and convenience for your business, family, & fun all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing