We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a great facility in a great location. My husband, cocker spaniel and I have stayed here around 10 times on our trips to North Carolina. The rooms are clean and well appointed with comfortable beds. They ARE pet friendly, they don't just say they are. It is very clean and quiet and the breakfast is very good.
The only negative is the over-use lately of room freshener. The rooms reek of a Febreeze type smell, and if it gives me a headache, my dog must really hate it. I am unsure if they are doing that to cover up pet smells or if the management thinks it smells good, but i wish they would use less..That said, I do think this is a good hotel and will remain our headquarters on our way to North Carolina.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

 We always enjoy hearing from our return guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 236 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for a night while traveling. We had an above average experience with this Holiday Inn Express. It started with the night clerk going above and beyond making us feel welcome and giving us a military discount we didn't know applied. Our room was very clean and comfortable.

One major drawback: the shower in the morning was cold, not something I enjoyed on a cold winter morning (this might be due to heavy visitor traffic during the holiday season, but not really acceptable).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilDuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to discuss the disappointment you experienced during your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is essential to our future success! Unwelcome problems can always arise, but our goal is to have them addressed promptly by staff members so our guests are not inconvenienced. Cold shower water is certainly a frustrating issue and we regret that it was not resolved for you in a timely manner during your stay. It is nice to hear you had an above average stay with us and that the night clerk went above and beyond. Thank you for your review. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Equal distance between Knoxville and Sevierville exit in Hwy 40. Three major gas stations with respective markets; a Waffle House and Outback Rest across the street.
Very clean, QUIET and friendly staff. Had bad experience with a [female] front desk employee, but supervisor took care of it [and apologized] next day.
Rooms are not huge but comfy enough. This is our second time in it and it will become our "headquarters" for our frequent visits to the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salvarez1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Here at the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains are very glad to hear that we will become your "headquarters" for our frequent visits to the area. Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

stayed 2 days on a business trip to the area and was not diasappointed. Location is west of Knoxville and has good access to the interstate and places to eat. Property is clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard fare and filling. Internet reception was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UTCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Taking the time to give us such a nice review is greatly appreciated here at the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains. We hope to see you again when you travel back to Knoxville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This should be the standard for all HI Expresses. We have stayed several times, always a rather late arrival, but check in is quick. The whole place is clean and everyone is friendly. Breakfast is well stocked and we never feel rushed. The rooms are always in top notch condition, including the linens. Convenientally located.

Room Tip: The back side of the building is usually quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeccoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We are glad to hear how much you liked our hotel the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I enjoy staying at this hotel. Its right off of the expressway and there are some good restaurants in the area. Easy to get on the expressway to head to Gatlinburg or back to Knoxville. Hotel staff are very pleasant. On our last visit the front desk person even offered to take family pictures for us so no one had to be left out of the picture.

We were able to use the breakfast room to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversary when the rain ruined our picnic plans.

Breakfast is also well stocked. Staff is very friendly. Will definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loretta1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains. Our associates pride themselves on providing excellent guest service. Your review will certainly be shared with them. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Easy on/off I 40. Good staff. Very friendly. Great cookies. Easy check in. Across street from Outback Steak House, Waffle House, & Ruby Tuesday. Clean rooms & very nice lobby.Food to purchase--lean cuisine type items that can be warmed in your in room microwaves. Nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teachall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

 We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the cookies during your stay with us and would like to thank you for such a nice review. Please return often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville-East
Hampton Inn Knoxville-East
#17 of 87 in Knoxville
485 reviews
18.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Knoxville West- Cedar Bluff Rd
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Knoxville-Farragut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville at Cedar Bluff
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Knoxville West - Papermill Dr
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Strawberry Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains

Address: 730 Rufus Graham Rd, Knoxville, TN 37924-4338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: $103 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East, Strawberry Plains.The perfect blend of friendly meets functional and corporate meets comfort at this Knoxville hotel.Whether you need to be near the University of TN for every Volunteer Football game; in the Great Smoky Mountains for hiking, biking and a trip to Dollywood; or near the Forks of the River Industrial Park for a busy work week; the Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East will keep you close and convenient without being in the crowded city. Our location off I-40, Exit 398, will also give you easy access to all the attractions in Gatlinburg, the car shows in Pigeon Forge, and give you a direct route to all the Nascar races in Bristol that you can handle.We know you will 'Stay Smart' while using our 24 hour fitness center and the heated, indoor pool. You may also choose to relax with a cinnamon roll, omlet, & bacon in our comfy hospitality room for our 'Stay Smart Express Breakfast', or catch up on some work in our 24 hour business center with our FREE wired & wireless HSIA. The Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East also offers fine dining nearby at the Outback Steakhouse, Puleo's Grille & Ruby Tuesday's. Remember, your pet is also welcome at our Knoxville hotel.This Knoxville hotel has the best to offer for location, comfort, and convenience for your business, family, & fun all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing