We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely AMAZING”
Review of RouXbarb - CLOSED

RouXbarb
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Chef Bruce Bogartz has won Best Chef in Knoxville's Metro Pulse reader surveys for an unparalleled 6 years in a row for a reason. Come find out why we're one of the 100 Places to Eat in the South Before You Die, according to The Southern Foodie!
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Absolutely AMAZING”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have ate at this restaurant several times and every time it is nothing but WONDERFUL! I can't say this enough about this restaurant. I believe this should be #1 restaurant in Knoxville, it is unbelievable! All of their food is delicious, servers are great, and I love that its BYOB because it saves you some money to bring your own wine or 6 pack in! DEFINITELY visit this restaurant, it is top 5 in Knoxville, TN!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    15
    7
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Left message (as far as I know, the only way to contact them) on a Thursday attempting to make a reservation for the following Wednesday. After patiently awaiting a response for 4 days, I call back Sunday to see what's up. Owner answers, "yeah, we're pretty booked Wednesday, but call back in an hour and talk to my reservationist". Reservationist, an hour later, rather brusquely, "we're totally booked Wednesday".

A simple, "sorry we didn't get back to you" from either of them might have kept me in the game, but they made it clear they don't need my business. Such a shame....the food is quite tasty.

If you do go, steer clear of live music nights. The bistro atmosphere is loud enough without pedestrian jazzbos in the corner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything is great”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

While this place does not look like much, Chef Bruce creates great food and different menus. The food is not only great, but the portions are generous. My wife had the pork schnitzel which was better than at a german resturant and I had an out standing piece of swordfish - almost 2" think. Don't miss the pecan pie for dessert.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville. tn
1 review
“tasting menu”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The meal we had last night (Jan 23,) was without a doubt the best food I have ever eaten, both for its quality of ingredients and perparation, but for the wonderful flavor combinations chef Bruce developed. No taste bud remained uninvolved. Our companions said they had eaten in French three and four star restaurants (at many times the price) and did not get food or service that matched Rouxbarb"s. If sometime you decide that you want a great meal with no compromises, Rouxbarb is your place. Thank you Bruce for a gastronomic experience that surpassed all expectations.
Ed Sedlmeier

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edward s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Made reservations (a must) 2 days in advance with no problem. We looked forward to a couples night out on Saturday and we had a great experience at RouXbarb. The spare ribs tips small plate had a superb flavor. The Chef has refined his smoking skills and we were not disappointed. I had the wedge salad and it was good. There were two specials that seemed mouth-watering. My husband had the New Zealand venison and it was cooked to perfection, tender, moist, not too gamey, served with a complimentary sauce and beans that did not take away from the flavor of the meat itself. I had the red fish, which was very good and flavorful, and the serving was plentiful. We decided to splurge and have two desserts: the lemon chess pie, with raspberry sorbet - excellent! Pecan praline pie was just as tasty and we had fun sharing. Great way to end a wonderful evening. We brought our own bottle of wine and with the corkage fee our cost was $115 without tip. We look forward to returning to this nice find in the Bearden aread.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJlovethebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RouXbarb also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing