We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UT - Comfort & Ease”

University of Tennessee
Ranked #5 of 191 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 26,000 students attend the University of Tennessee.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“UT - Comfort & Ease”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

University is situated on some hills that flow down to the Tennessee River so it's a beautiful setting, the people are easy going and nice, environment is calminm yet vibrant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mad-Dog-Harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    87
    28
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't go to Thompson Boling Arena - They Can't Keep You Safe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We attended Dolly's concert on May 28, 2014 at Thompson Boling Arena. The venue had three levels of security - Event staff, UT Police and Dolly's Security detail. The Event Staff and Dolly's detail where allowed to harass concert goers, verbally abuse them and even push them. My wife had the camera pushed back at her twice. My daughter was pushed for supposedly being to close to the aisle. She was on the end seat! When we requested that UT Police intervene we were told by them that they were helpless - Dolly's security detail had complete control since they rented the venue and the paramedics were not even allowed to setup stations in the actual arena. They had to stay in the medic room. This did not feel like a concert BUT more of a rogue police state with a want to be cop in charge.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ky_traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bring a padded seat or cushion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

It is a nice stadium not the best one but bring a padded seat of cushion seats are metal bleachers. And if it's a hot sunny day bring sun screen and try to sit up high under the middle level for some shade. Food is okay normal ball park food. Try not to park to close to stadium due to traffic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful University!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We attended an event for newly accepted students at UTK. Knoxville is a fun, interesting and extremely well kept town. We went to a scrimmage football game at Neyland Stadium, walked along the the TN river, and ate in the market square. The town is very hilly and you will do a lot of walking. I loved the school spirit everyone had no matter what the age. Everyone wears their orange on game day. We saw elderly and babies and everyone in between dresses in UT orange.
My daughter will be there for 4 years, so we will be back many times.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“UT sports arenas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have been to several basketball arenas, some were the SEC tournaments & TBA in Knoxville is by far the best place to sit/view basketball games. The football stadium is less comfortable but the fan base is so electric it makes for a very exciting place to be on a football Saturday. The stadium is beside the river & the people who arrive by boat make it very interesting to go for a walk just to see the "Vol Navy" & the river walk area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Tennessee also viewed

 

Been to University of Tennessee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing