We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great Staff!! Spend a couple of days in Knoxville with my family and since I'm not really to familiar with the area, I had to ask the desk clerk for help periodically. He was outstanding at providing directions as well as dinner choices for my family. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the price was even better. However the breakfast could use a little touch up. Suggest: fruit or yogurt. But definitely enjoy our stay. We will be staying here when we are in Knoxville.

Location was convient, in a very developed area however really quiet at night, plus many restaurants in the area

Room Tip: Stayed in a ground floor room, facing Apple Bee's
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    15
    10
    30
See reviews for
43
33
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had a much better experience than some of these reviews suggest; we spent one night while on the road traveling home from Florida (Knoxville is about halfway). We have pretty low expectations for "freeway motels" and usually use the coupon books you find at rest areas to get the lowest rate -- this is just a place to sleep for 8 hours until we can drive again, not a "vacation" -- and we have a dog with us, limiting our options even more.

We've stayed at some very marginal motels. So it is nice to be able to say that this Red Roof in (off Merchant's Dr. Exit 108) was well above average -- clean, VERY friendly nice staff, pleasant room, comfortable bed.

We DID get a king bed, non-smoking room, adequate Wi-Fi and cable -- a fridge and microwave and coffeemaker. It was clean and pleasant and surprisingly quiet, considering how close to busy Merchants Drive it is.

It was an "easy off, easy on" location just blocks from I-75, and there is an exceptional selection of restaurants and other services -- we had an Applebee's practically in our lap, and a Puleo's (good local eatery) across the street. But we choose to eat at a 50s drive in (also across the street) that was quick and very affordable and good.

The last couple trips we made along this route, frankly we stayed in some just awful motels -- I mean here, "Bates' Motel" quality -- dirty, holes in the wall. I was beginning to think we'd have to raise our price point to get something that wasn't creepy -- but this Red Roof Inn was not only an affordable $39.99 (with no annoying add-ons) BUT they let one pet stay FREE....this is a $10 savings for us right off the bat.

There is a decent enough free breakfast, with coffee, juice, waffles, cereal and (best of all) fresh bagels with cream cheese and these are another real savings for budget traveller.

Lastly: we found a lost dog (someone else's) in the parking lot, thinking it was a stray we captured the poor creature (no collar or tags). The night manager, seeing me running around the parking lot, called to see if we had a problem (very thoughtful), then FOUND the dog's owner so we were not stuck trying to do something with the poor thing at 6AM before we had to hit the road. (Happy ending: his owner was in another suite and very relieved to get his lost dog back!)

In short: next time we are on I-75, we will seek out this particular Red Roof Inn again! Recommended.

Room Tip: There is a pool (though not much good in the winter) and the rooms facing the pool rather than the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0692, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Knoxville North. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerly,
Tim Lamb
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Brien, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Was a real nice motel. Prefect location. Room 102, was in the back and easy exist to room. Looked like they are beginning updating the rooms. Was comfortable. The breakfast was pitiful. Could use some fruit. The service was great, she was very helpful and accommodating. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Plan on eating breakfast out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StandTall460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
358 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I travel for a living and mostly stay at Red Roofs all across the United States. I'm a redicard holder and typically have zero complaints. The location is good with several eating establishments within easy walking. The person at the front desk quoted me the same price for Friday & Saturday but said the rate was lower for Sunday night which is the norm. I pay day to day as I'm on call 24 hours a day and may have to relocate due to work (expediter). I called desk Saturday night to confirm the Sunday rate and was again given the lower rate by a different person. Went down Sunday morning and the manager on duty tried to charge me thd higher rate and argued with me. Very unprofessional in appearance and conduct. Rooms are not updated as are other Red Roofs. Carpets not cleaned in days. The juice machine wasn't working and the coffee was like water. It was only 8:00 and the bagels and bread were al gone and the waffle maker was filty. Upon checking out I was looking under bed to make sure I wasn't forgetting something and saw 2 used condoms, 4 empty beer cans and Burger King bag. I'll be calling corporate headquarters a.d having a discussion.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Room is very large and hotel is quiet. Outdoor pool only and there is an exercise room. We would definitely stay here again. A continental breakfast is available also. Scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels, etc are part of the menu.

Room Tip: First floor room is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0692, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Knoxville North. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerly,
Tim Lamb
Front Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Last minute my friends and I decided to go to Knoxville for Tennessee's homecoming. Not a bad price for the place. You definitely get what you pay for.
There are no refrigerators or microwaves inside the rooms. The pillows are uncomfortable and I swear I woke up itching after sleeping in the bed. The guy that worked the front desk in the lobby was pretty nice. Everytime we ran out of towels we called and they told us there were no clean ones and they would be ready in two hours, go figure.
Do not expect the Four Seasons or even Holiday Inn. Like I said, you get what you pay for so don't expect much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahogany20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here on our way back home to Ontario, we've had good experiences with Red Roof in the past so decided to stay here. When we got to the room, the overall view was ok. Tried to turn on the TV and the remote didn't work. Used the phone and there were a few dead bugs on the cradle which I had to blow off. The handle for the toilet was broken so it ran and ran for awhile until we jiggled with it to get it to stop, good thing we had family in the ajoining room so we could use there toilet. Breakfast was alright, juice machine was broken so if you didn't drink coffee you were out of luck. If all you are looking for is a place to sleep then this place is for you, if you need more drive on by and find another. Compared to other Red Roof Inn's we've stayed in for the same price this one doesn't compare.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Targa_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#41 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#50 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Knoxville
MainStay Suites Knoxville
#30 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive

Property: Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
Address: 5334 Central Avenue Pike, I-75 at Merchants Dr, Exit #108, Knoxville, TN 37912
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive offers pleasant accommodations with a variety of amenities at the right price. This hotel is situated on busy I-75, and is an ideal choice for those who want a quiet stay close to key destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing