We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security concerns not addressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Security concerns not addressed”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stopped at this hotel while on the road to Atlanta and were disappointed at what is usually a routine check-in process. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained, and the morning staff unusually friendly and welcoming, but a request for a room facing away from the constant freeway noise and an upgrade for Marriott Gold/Platinum members were ignored on two attempts.

However, most disturbing was that the hotel openly disclosed room numbers, costs, and status (government, corporate, AAA, Rewards, Senior, etc) to others in line, seated in the lobby, and standing near the door. As a frequent business traveler, who often carries valuables and private documents, I think it’s important to point out that both security and guest status be honored and respected as private information. For this reason, I’d highly recommend you take special care on check-in to this particular Marriott facility.

After emailing Marriott, the general manager curtly refunded the cost of our room, but did not suggest that he had taken corrective action or found any cause for further concern. Nor was there any suggestion of a welcomed return should we decide to try again. Which, sadly we would not.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room facing away from the freeway and remind the desk clerk of any Rewards stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAA-AV8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    81
    68
    19
    13
See reviews for
97
73
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been traveling a fair amount lately and so have had a chance to compare. The room itself was fairly good, though found the ac/heater unit a little noisy, and the bed uncomfortable (realize that is a personal thing). The room was very clean and in good repair. Staff at front desk, breakfast and housekeeping were outgoing and friendly. Breakfast was okay, but for me not up to the standard of the industry. The person working in the are was friendly and working very hard to get it done. The selection of fruit was minimal. The chairs in the breakfast area were very warn, They were probably a poor choice when purchased. All together just okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gblack7205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. We appreciate your business. I hope you hava a wonderful day and will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,182 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When we are driving to and from Florida, it's nice to know that there are consistently good places to spend the night. The staff is wonderful and the rooms clean and comfortable. Add a good breakfast before we hit the road and this is a place we will come back to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We appreciate your repeat business. We are glad you enjoyed this past visit as well as other visits at this location. Its always nice to start your day off right with breakfast we are happy to offer the new Hot Breakfast to our guests. Thank you for staying with us. Safe travels and we will see you next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We use this location often as we come to Knoxville for UT ball games. The staff, service, & facilities are always up to par, making our visit such a pleasant experience. And the comp breakfast is excellent: food well prepared, several choices, incl healthy options. And all staff are friendly & eager to meet any & all needs. PLUS, easy off & on access to interstate & local hwys. We just love thus location quiet & relaxing!!!

Room Tip: King Leisure rooms have refrigerators, and all are non-smoking!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We appreciate your feedback on our location. The Hot Breakfast is a big hit with everyone so far. Myself and the staff enjoy our repeat guests and we will provide for you the best way we can while you stay with us. Our close location to the interstate does make for an easier trip in after a long night of cheering for your favorite football team. Thank you again for your positive feedback on the staff and the hotel have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not all rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. If it's important you may want to ask. Nice, neat and clean. Close to the interstate, restaurants, fuel. I would stay here again. Wifi, breakfast, free newspapers and convenience store in lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback on our location. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will stay with us in the future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been a Marriott customer for over 35 yrs, first at Marriott hotels, then Courtyards & Residence Inns when they were added. Lately I find Courtyards overpriced and charging for everything and neither breakfast nor 24 hrs lobby coffee. This was the second Fairfield used on a recent road trip. A really odd location on the branch of a dead end fork. I'm not sure how these folks got one & 2 star ratings because we found this Fairfield just short of excellent. Desk staff was outstanding, at reception, departure & everything in between. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable with excellent Marriott. We left some jackets in the closet and got a phone call after we left. We asked that they hold them as we'd be coming back thru Knoxville a few days later. The jackets were there on our return. The free breakfast was what Courtyard used to offer but no longer does. Is it what you'd make at home? No, but there were eggs, sausage patties, waffles, cereal, great coffee, fresh fruit and a very attentive staff. Amber took care of every request and sure made us feel welcome and no just another traveler. I'd stay there again, no problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2drchevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We take pride in the hotel and do our best to make every guest feel at home while they stay with us. I am glad the staff was helpful in returning your items. Thank you for commenting on the breakfast it is our newest addition and I am glad to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you for your positive feedback I hope when passing through our area you will stay with us again. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Before starting our trip through the mountains from NC to the Knoxville, Tn.. area, I phoned the hotel and talked to the General Manager, Tim. I knew the trip across the mountains would be harrowing because of some serious rainstorms in the area, and I wanted to make sure that his hotel had availability. Tim assured me that he would have a comfortable room waiting for me and my Wife. He delivered. When we arrived, Robyn, checked us in to a great clean comfortable room. She mentioned that Tim, the GM., had left instructions to see that we were warmly greeted and made comfortable. That is exactly what happened. The entire staff at that Fairfield Inn treated my Wife and I like Gold Rewards members. The Pool was a great place to relax. The morning breakfast was one of the best we ever had at a Fairfield Inn-it included cooked eggs and sausage, and a wide variety of other items. Kudos to you Tim, and your staff. People like you, make me glad that My Wife and I belong to the Marriott Rewards program. If we ever pass through Knoxville again, we will go out of our way to stay at your property.
Juliann and Jim Murphy. p.s. It sure was nice to have that Cracker barrel restaurant within walking distance-a nice place for an early supper.

Room Tip: If you are a Gold rewards member, request a Gold upgrade. The Fairfield Inn Knoxville East will cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TisMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel the staff and myself. I am glad we were able to accommodate you. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and the breakfast. The Hot Breakfast is a new addition to our location. The Cracker Barrel is very conveniently located to us which makes for a quick trip to supper when you are tired. I hope you will stay with us in the future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#36 of 86 in Knoxville
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Knoxville
Motel 6 Knoxville
#59 of 86 in Knoxville
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville-East
Hampton Inn Knoxville-East
#17 of 86 in Knoxville
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Strawberry Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East
Address: 1551 Cracker Barrel Ln, Knoxville, TN 37914-9544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Knoxville East Hotel Knoxville
Fairfield Knoxville
Knoxville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing