We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odd location, Hotel Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Odd location, Hotel Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been a Marriott customer for over 35 yrs, first at Marriott hotels, then Courtyards & Residence Inns when they were added. Lately I find Courtyards overpriced and charging for everything and neither breakfast nor 24 hrs lobby coffee. This was the second Fairfield used on a recent road trip. A really odd location on the branch of a dead end fork. I'm not sure how these folks got one & 2 star ratings because we found this Fairfield just short of excellent. Desk staff was outstanding, at reception, departure & everything in between. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable with excellent Marriott. We left some jackets in the closet and got a phone call after we left. We asked that they hold them as we'd be coming back thru Knoxville a few days later. The jackets were there on our return. The free breakfast was what Courtyard used to offer but no longer does. Is it what you'd make at home? No, but there were eggs, sausage patties, waffles, cereal, great coffee, fresh fruit and a very attentive staff. Amber took care of every request and sure made us feel welcome and no just another traveler. I'd stay there again, no problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2drchevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We take pride in the hotel and do our best to make every guest feel at home while they stay with us. I am glad the staff was helpful in returning your items. Thank you for commenting on the breakfast it is our newest addition and I am glad to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you for your positive feedback I hope when passing through our area you will stay with us again. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    77
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
91
67
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Before starting our trip through the mountains from NC to the Knoxville, Tn.. area, I phoned the hotel and talked to the General Manager, Tim. I knew the trip across the mountains would be harrowing because of some serious rainstorms in the area, and I wanted to make sure that his hotel had availability. Tim assured me that he would have a comfortable room waiting for me and my Wife. He delivered. When we arrived, Robyn, checked us in to a great clean comfortable room. She mentioned that Tim, the GM., had left instructions to see that we were warmly greeted and made comfortable. That is exactly what happened. The entire staff at that Fairfield Inn treated my Wife and I like Gold Rewards members. The Pool was a great place to relax. The morning breakfast was one of the best we ever had at a Fairfield Inn-it included cooked eggs and sausage, and a wide variety of other items. Kudos to you Tim, and your staff. People like you, make me glad that My Wife and I belong to the Marriott Rewards program. If we ever pass through Knoxville again, we will go out of our way to stay at your property.
Juliann and Jim Murphy. p.s. It sure was nice to have that Cracker barrel restaurant within walking distance-a nice place for an early supper.

Room Tip: If you are a Gold rewards member, request a Gold upgrade. The Fairfield Inn Knoxville East will cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TisMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel the staff and myself. I am glad we were able to accommodate you. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and the breakfast. The Hot Breakfast is a new addition to our location. The Cracker Barrel is very conveniently located to us which makes for a quick trip to supper when you are tired. I hope you will stay with us in the future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice Fairfield. Good price and not too far from downtown Knoxville. Breakfast was hot and staff kept area clean. Quiet area with Cracker Barrel and gas stations near. Right off I-40. Stay on third floor on back side of the property for the quietest rooms. 15 minute drive to downtown.

Room Tip: Stay on third floor on back side of hotel for quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeygene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The hot breakfast is actually a new addition to our property I am glad to hear you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Check inn was a breeze thanks to Andrew rooms nice and roomy bed comfy breakfast good includes meat check out was smooth didn't catch the young lady name but she did pretty much everything would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rn7100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I appreciate your feedback. Andrew is one of our newest employees I am glad to hear he is doing well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Upon arrival the lady at the front desk was extremely rude. Very unprofessional. I was overcharged, lied to, and treated like a piece of crap, not like a guest. The hotel itself is very clean and nice but poor customer service ruined the stay. I could have made a better breakfast with the microwave in my room. I will not be staying here ever again and as a matter of fact I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfhsbasketball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that your check in process was a bad experience. I do appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel itself. Again I do apologize for your check in experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This property is on the outer east side of Knoxville and I wouldn't normally stay that far out of town since my customers in this area are in town. In my Marriott Rewards newsletter & points statement there was an offer for a 1,000 bonus points so I thought I would give it a try. I checked in and asked the clerk if I had to do anything to receive the bonus points. She stated that several other guests had also inquired about it but she didn't know anything about it.

Within 15 minutes of being in the hotel, my initial impression was that I can see why they were offering the 1,000 point bonus to get you to stay here. The room, carpet & furnishings were fairly "tired" looking. Also, the TV was an old clunky style TV set and the AC unit was kind of nasty looking as well and didn't cool the room very well. It stayed pretty muggy. Otherwise, the room was fairly clean. The workout room was fairly small and had decent equipment but not the machines with individual TV's like you find at most Marriott properties. The breakfast area was pretty standard for a Fairfield and was clean as well.

When I checked my Marriott Rewards account a week or so later, I had only received my regular points. I sent in an inquiry via the website only to receive an email from the Knoxville GM stating that because I had booked online with my AAA discount (which is the default on my profile) that I was not entitled to the points because I didn't pay the "rack rate" (full price). It was also stated that I didn't use the promo code. Neither of these requirements were mentioned in the "blurb" in the newsletter. It only stated the promotion dates. On top of this, their own employee didn't know the promo requirements so how was I supposed to?

I stay at lots of Fairfield Inns and many of them on return trips to the same areas but this won't be one of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#34 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Strawberry Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville-East
Hampton Inn Knoxville-East
#15 of 87 in Knoxville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Knoxville
Motel 6 Knoxville
#59 of 87 in Knoxville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East
Address: 1551 Cracker Barrel Ln, Knoxville, TN 37914-9544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville/East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Knoxville East Hotel Knoxville
Fairfield Knoxville
Knoxville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing