We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright lights”
Review of Select Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Select Inn
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My stay at this place was relatively brief. Arrived late and left early in the morning. Didn't take advantage of the breakfast, so I can't say anything about it.

Location is very convenient and has a lot of activity around it. The building looks right onto the freeway, so noise was a concern, but it wasn't bad.

Service at the front desk on check-in was good. It's nice to have friendly faces when you're weary from a day of driving. Check-in didn't take very long at all, which is greatly appreciated.

The room was in good condition. Comfortable bed, lots of space, and everything you expect. Including a refrigerator and microwave.

My only complaint is the bright lights that they have aimed at the building. I think it's because they're trying to attract guests from the freeway. So the illuminate the freeway side of the building and people driving there can see it. If that's the case, then they should do it from the ground facing up. They shouldn't have lights on poles shining directly into the rooms.

It really wasn't that big of a deal to me, because I could still pull the blind and the light was gone. But this might be a problem for somebody else.

I'd stay here again if I was in the area. But I might ask for a room facing away from the freeway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Guest Relations Manager at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We offer a wonderful Breakfast Buffet and great customer service. Also, we have blackout curtains in all rooms if the guest feels the outside lights are too bright. We just want to make sure their is amply visibility in the parking lot for our guest as they come inside.

Once again, Thank you for your review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 173 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was very easy to find and convenient. It was a great place to stop after our long drive from the Toledo area. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast had a nice selection including make your own waffles. Front Desk staff was friendly and helpful with great suggestions of things to do. Our family walked around downtown Knoxville, visited the Sun Sphere at World Fair Park and took a drive through the UT Campus, which were a short drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Guest Relations Manager at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer a complimentary Breakfast Buffet and free wireless service. Our Front Desk is always willing to help with whatever questions our guest may have.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped at this hotel on our way from Baltimore, Maryland to Florida. This hotel is in an excellent location, convenient to any and everything you could possibly need. We got a good rate and the front desk associate was very accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. After a good night's rest, the breakfast was very fresh and and good selection to choose from. Plan on stopping here on our way back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mildred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your review of our hotel. We are happy you found your accommodations clean and comfortable. Many of our guests have been complimentary of our location. We are located just 5 minutes from downtown Knoxville and the University of Tennessee campus. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and look forward to you returning to stay with us again.

Norm Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we selected the hotel using one of the discount coupon books at rest areas, got a good rate, room was clean, slept well, morning breakfast was great, even had Bacon in the food selection!
the front desk staff was friendly aswell.

Room Tip: Always check out any room you are considering before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking advantage of our coupons. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be a good value and a pleasant place to get a good night's rest. We also pride ourselves on having a great breakfast and are glad you enjoyed it. Our staff work very hard to make each guest's stay as great as possible. Thank you for your review.

-Norm Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My son's team stayed there for a competition. His hotel room was terribly small and no fridge in the room. Breakfast was OK at best. There are many other nice places in Knoxville so unless it was a phenomenal deal I wouldn't bother.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank boysntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. This gives us a great insight in what we are doing right and what we can improve. Regarding your room not having a fridge, we do have many rooms with fridges, just simply ask us and we will accommodate you with a fridge in your room.

We continue to renovate our rooms and we are in the process of adding some exciting things in our room. If you visit Knoxville again please give us another chance. We will make sure your visit is comfortable and hope to exceed your expectations. Thanks!

Norm Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night on our way to Nashville. This turned out to be a good choice. We always base our experience on cleanliness and service and this provided both. We were greeted with a smile at check-in. It was close to dinnertime and we asked about a restaurant that might offer local flair since this was our first time in Tennessee. We were given a recommendation (as well as a coupon) for a restaurant that was close and had very enjoyable food. When we returned to the Clarion, we were asked about our dining experience. Our room was standard hotel decor, nothing fancy, but it was clean and had everything we needed. Hallways and lobby were also clean. Brochure stands were completely filled with up to date info about the area. We received a call once we got settled in; it was the front desk just checking to see if everything was satisfactory - I've never had that happen! In the morning, my husband and I were both able to work out at the same time on two exercise bikes in the fitness center (treadmills were on the fritz). The morning staff was also friendly and we proceeded to enjoy a fresh breakfast that was regularly being checked, refilled, etc. It included waffles, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, oatmeal, several juices, and coffee and tea. Forgot our razor and the front desk quickly provided one for us. So while our choice of this hotel was random (we just knew we wanted something in the Choice Hotel family), it turned out to be a positive experience as our first stop in Tennessee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmbelz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Guest Relations Manager at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for Clarion Hotel North Knoxville.

I am happy to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Knoxville and our staff was able to recommend a restuarant that you enjoyed We will be replacing our treadmills pretty soon and will have brand new fitness equipment. Please come stay with us again and we will make sure your next stay is also a good one.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on recent trip and I have to say that we were pleasently surprised by the room and customer service. First of all, we love the rate we paid for the room. It is extremely affordable compared to the price you would end up paying at other hotels. The breakfast was good and had everything we needed. The usually waffles and cereal, pastries. The kids loved the outdoor pool. I read some of the negative comments and was hesistant but my experience was good. The staff was wonderfull and helped us and the rooms are comfortable and are being renovated so there are some new items as well. Overall good experience!!! Will stay again if we come through Knoxville.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Serena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Guest Relations Manager at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for Clarion Hotel North Knoxville.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We try our best to make sure every guest is happy and our staff goes above and beyond to make sure we stand out above all other hotels. We offer a great breakfast buffet in the morning and are always looking to improve the guest experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#60 of 87 in Knoxville
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Near Downtown Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville at Cedar Bluff
11.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Inn

Address: 5634 Merchants Center Blvd, Knoxville, TN 37912-3459 (Formerly Clarion Inn Knoxville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range: $53 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Select Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Clarion Knoxville
Clarion Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing