We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Select Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Select Inn
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on recent trip and I have to say that we were pleasently surprised by the room and customer service. First of all, we love the rate we paid for the room. It is extremely affordable compared to the price you would end up paying at other hotels. The breakfast was good and had everything we needed. The usually waffles and cereal, pastries. The kids loved the outdoor pool. I read some of the negative comments and was hesistant but my experience was good. The staff was wonderfull and helped us and the rooms are comfortable and are being renovated so there are some new items as well. Overall good experience!!! Will stay again if we come through Knoxville.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Serena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Guest Relations Manager at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for Clarion Hotel North Knoxville.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We try our best to make sure every guest is happy and our staff goes above and beyond to make sure we stand out above all other hotels. We offer a great breakfast buffet in the morning and are always looking to improve the guest experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Upon arrival, I thought the hotel was a little worn but it didn't appear too bad for the price we were paying. The trouble started the next morning when I found a "suspicious" looking bug running across the wall. To make a long story short, I began finding more of these bugs in my room and the front desk clerk confirmed my suspicions....bed bugs. They told me I was "the first report they had of them." They tried to move me to another room but I couldn't stay and the other people in my group checked out as well. When talking to the other people in my group, I also discovered that the pool was closed by order of the health department. The front desk clerk quietly checked us out, the manager was on hand but no one apologized. I wish now I had complained about having to pay for the night I stayed.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank soccer_suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Guest Relations Manager at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for Clarion Hotel North Knoxville.

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel. But you will be happy to know that the room you stayed in did not have bed bugs. We have professional pest control company service our rooms bi-weekly basis. Upon your checkout we of course called them and inspect the room. You will be happy to know, they did not find any type of bugs in the room. Bed bugs do not run across the wall. It is almost impossible to see these bugs with the human eye. Also, our front desk clerk did not confirm your suspicions that your room had bugs she was just trying to help the situation and to make sure you were happy. Above all, we want our guest to be happy.

Secondly, Our pool was not closed by the health department. The reason the pool was closed during your stay was because the pool was not open for the summer season yet. We open our pool when weather turns warm and this year we had to wait until June so that our guest could enjoy our pool. May was unusually cold this year. We get great compliments on our outdoor pool and nothing is wrong with it. I do not know who told you our pool was closed by the health department but you should of just ask the front desk and they would have explained the pool was not open yet for the season.

We offer nice clean rooms and a wonderful environment to our guests. When we make mistakes we offer to correct them to make sure all our guests are happy. We have a wonderful staff and they would have more than happy to help you during your stay.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel due to a coupon in the travel magazine. It entitled us to a great rate but without that good rate I would have a hard time paying more.
Check in took 30 minutes- at 11:30pm! 2 walkins in front of me plus a lady who needed change for the vending machine and had to wait. The poor front desk guy really could have used some help as it was the end of spring break for most people and he was the only one there with a lobby full of people and the phones ringing off the hook.
Stayed on the 4th floor in a room with two full sized beds. Room was ok. some things missing off the walls due to renovations according to signs. I don't think the comforters have ever been washed and that famous brown blanket in between the comforter and sheet was so scratchy and hard. Gross.

Went down for breakfast the next morning at 8:15am and it was completly empty. Waited until closer to 9 and it was still empty. It got worse as the morning went on. Rumor has it the morning breakfast person walked out on them that morning so the front desk staff (1 person) had to keep up with the breakfast and run the desk. I really felt for her. She seemed to be doing the best she could given the situation. Myself and a couple of other guests were actually helping the lady clean up the counters and tables where guests were sitting. We didn't eat much of anything as everything was out of stock. Did try the potatoes and eggs and they were disgusting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruznthrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for Clarion Hotel North Knoxville.

You are correct, we did have a couple of staffing situations that weekend that could not predict. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. Our Front Desk is now under new management and we invite you to visit us again to see what a difference it has made!

Our breakfast menu is new and we like knowing what guests think. While we are required to carry specific items on the buffet, we are open to changes if they will provide a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were driving down to Florida and urgently needed a place to stay for a night. We finally called the Clarion Inn, Knoxville. Luckily, they had one room left, mostly every other hotel was booked because of spring break.

When we got in, there was a GIANT group of teenagers, sitting around and playing music. It was welcoming. There was one woman at the front desk and she was friendly. No pool, small fitness center. Just good enough for one or two night stays. Decent sized breakfast area.

When we got up to our room, it was decent. Two queen beds, clean and comfy enough, but somewhat stiff. The sink was separated from the shower and toilet which was a plus for us if someone wanted to use the sink while someone was in the shower. The shower was dirty, the floor of the shower was BLACK. I put down my own shower mat. They obviously only did a quick cleaning in the bathroom.

The TV was good, met our needs. It had a BALCONY which overlooked the mountains and town which was also a plus for us because for the price, it was great. Staff was friendly enough. The breakfast was okay, a make your own waffle thing, apple juice, nice area. Good enough but not too large

. The Night was HORRIBLE though. A group of teenagers on our floor were VERY LOUD. I laid in bed for nearly two hours listening to them yell in the hallway. Overall, good hotel, but I would NOT come here again. WAY too noisy and groups are always coming here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leahlou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us.

You are certainly correct about us being full. There was a large convention in town and we took part. We apologize for any disturbances you experienced. Please know that had we been informed we would have addressed the issue immediately.

If you plan to travel through Knoxville again, please know that our outdoor pool is typically open during the warmer months only. Mother Nature has decided that she wants winter just a bit longer than normal this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Travelling from Hilton Head back home, this hotel is about the halfway point. We have stayed 2 years in a row and were pleased to see that this year there is some updating happening. The hot breakfast is a great deal with lots of variety. The hiway traffic does cause some noise issues but not insurmountable.

Room Tip: Try away from the hiway side, but then you have the noise from the next door tavern?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wixxON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at Clarion Hotel.

Yes, we are renovating Clarion Hotel! We have been around for a few years and now it is time to refresh our ammenities for our guests. We hope you will come back again after we have finished and let us know what you think. Our hot breakfast buffet is also new and we are excited to be able to present it.

Our convenience to the freeway is a bonus for many. We apologize that you were bothered by the noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice, clean and affordable. WIFI is choppy and almost non-existent at the rooms on the ends of the hotel. Staff, was friendly, but did not even attempt to do anything about the WIFI issue. The hotel is undergoing a renovation, so your room may or may not have a headboard on the bed. The breakfast offered was biscuits and gravy, with the usual cereal, fruits, and yogurt, nothing worthwhile.

Room Tip: If you are a business traveler stay away from the end units...little or no WIFI signal exists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the Clarion Inn Knoxville. Our breakfast will soon be upgraded with several more items on it, however, our breakfast does currently have several hot items on it like Belgan Waffles, Eggs and Sausage or Bacon. We do remove the items after 9:00am weekdays and 10:00am on the weekends. Perhaps you caught us when things were being put away and if so we are sorry that you missed a complete breakfast.

Our high speed internet is new and the corner rooms in the hotel shouldn't make any difference in the quality of the reception anymore. The high speed internet is available in all of our guest rooms, meeting rooms, and public areas of the hotel. Please let us know on your next visit if the quality seems better for you. We have Comcast High Speed Internet and must call them if we need service. Usually the internet works fine except if there is a bad storm or a rainey day.

We are renovationing and doing some painting during January & February and some of our guest rooms have not had the new head boards or the paintings put back in the rooms yet. Hopefully everything will be completed within the next 30 days. Thank you for your comments and please hurry back. Jim Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Recently stayed at this Clarion and was highly disappointed for the money. The rooms were OK definitely not the cleanest that I have stayed at. The front desk was definitely not the friendliest person in the world and the breakfast was well below average especially for a Clarion. We visit the area often and like the group of hotels on the Merchants Dr exit and this so far is our least favorite. Again especially for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We all thank you very much for your comments. The Clarion Inn Knoxville tries to price our hotel at a very good rate for our area. We are part of the largest hotel chain in the world, Choice Hotels, and we have won their Gold Award for customer satisfaction and nice clean rooms.

There are several all suite hotels with higher rates and several smaller properties with lower rates in our area and we try to stay at a reasonable rate somewhere in between. The Clarion has 123 rooms with balconies and indoor corridors and an extensive Continental Breaksfast with several hot items like eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and belgin waffels.

We sometimes have to use hard boiled eggs instead of scrambled eggs and improvise a bit when we have home football games, convention groups or sports groups in the hotel that amount to 300/400 people or more for breakfast, in order to provide better service

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us and I ask to to please call me personally and I would be happy to make your next visit more affordable and enjoyable.

Thank you and have a geat day! Jim Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#60 of 87 in Knoxville
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Near Downtown Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville at Cedar Bluff
11.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Inn

Address: 5634 Merchants Center Blvd, Knoxville, TN 37912-3459 (Formerly Clarion Inn Knoxville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range: $53 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Select Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Clarion Knoxville
Clarion Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing