We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“feel for the Front Desk Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Knoxville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Inn Knoxville
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“feel for the Front Desk Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel due to a coupon in the travel magazine. It entitled us to a great rate but without that good rate I would have a hard time paying more.
Check in took 30 minutes- at 11:30pm! 2 walkins in front of me plus a lady who needed change for the vending machine and had to wait. The poor front desk guy really could have used some help as it was the end of spring break for most people and he was the only one there with a lobby full of people and the phones ringing off the hook.
Stayed on the 4th floor in a room with two full sized beds. Room was ok. some things missing off the walls due to renovations according to signs. I don't think the comforters have ever been washed and that famous brown blanket in between the comforter and sheet was so scratchy and hard. Gross.

Went down for breakfast the next morning at 8:15am and it was completly empty. Waited until closer to 9 and it was still empty. It got worse as the morning went on. Rumor has it the morning breakfast person walked out on them that morning so the front desk staff (1 person) had to keep up with the breakfast and run the desk. I really felt for her. She seemed to be doing the best she could given the situation. Myself and a couple of other guests were actually helping the lady clean up the counters and tables where guests were sitting. We didn't eat much of anything as everything was out of stock. Did try the potatoes and eggs and they were disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruznthrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Knoxville, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for Clarion Hotel North Knoxville.

You are correct, we did have a couple of staffing situations that weekend that could not predict. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. Our Front Desk is now under new management and we invite you to visit us again to see what a difference it has made!

Our breakfast menu is new and we like knowing what guests think. While we are required to carry specific items on the buffet, we are open to changes if they will provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
55
42
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were driving down to Florida and urgently needed a place to stay for a night. We finally called the Clarion Inn, Knoxville. Luckily, they had one room left, mostly every other hotel was booked because of spring break.

When we got in, there was a GIANT group of teenagers, sitting around and playing music. It was welcoming. There was one woman at the front desk and she was friendly. No pool, small fitness center. Just good enough for one or two night stays. Decent sized breakfast area.

When we got up to our room, it was decent. Two queen beds, clean and comfy enough, but somewhat stiff. The sink was separated from the shower and toilet which was a plus for us if someone wanted to use the sink while someone was in the shower. The shower was dirty, the floor of the shower was BLACK. I put down my own shower mat. They obviously only did a quick cleaning in the bathroom.

The TV was good, met our needs. It had a BALCONY which overlooked the mountains and town which was also a plus for us because for the price, it was great. Staff was friendly enough. The breakfast was okay, a make your own waffle thing, apple juice, nice area. Good enough but not too large

. The Night was HORRIBLE though. A group of teenagers on our floor were VERY LOUD. I laid in bed for nearly two hours listening to them yell in the hallway. Overall, good hotel, but I would NOT come here again. WAY too noisy and groups are always coming here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leahlou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Knoxville, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us.

You are certainly correct about us being full. There was a large convention in town and we took part. We apologize for any disturbances you experienced. Please know that had we been informed we would have addressed the issue immediately.

If you plan to travel through Knoxville again, please know that our outdoor pool is typically open during the warmer months only. Mother Nature has decided that she wants winter just a bit longer than normal this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Travelling from Hilton Head back home, this hotel is about the halfway point. We have stayed 2 years in a row and were pleased to see that this year there is some updating happening. The hot breakfast is a great deal with lots of variety. The hiway traffic does cause some noise issues but not insurmountable.

Room Tip: Try away from the hiway side, but then you have the noise from the next door tavern?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wixxON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Knoxville, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at Clarion Hotel.

Yes, we are renovating Clarion Hotel! We have been around for a few years and now it is time to refresh our ammenities for our guests. We hope you will come back again after we have finished and let us know what you think. Our hot breakfast buffet is also new and we are excited to be able to present it.

Our convenience to the freeway is a bonus for many. We apologize that you were bothered by the noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice, clean and affordable. WIFI is choppy and almost non-existent at the rooms on the ends of the hotel. Staff, was friendly, but did not even attempt to do anything about the WIFI issue. The hotel is undergoing a renovation, so your room may or may not have a headboard on the bed. The breakfast offered was biscuits and gravy, with the usual cereal, fruits, and yogurt, nothing worthwhile.

Room Tip: If you are a business traveler stay away from the end units...little or no WIFI signal exists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Knoxville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the Clarion Inn Knoxville. Our breakfast will soon be upgraded with several more items on it, however, our breakfast does currently have several hot items on it like Belgan Waffles, Eggs and Sausage or Bacon. We do remove the items after 9:00am weekdays and 10:00am on the weekends. Perhaps you caught us when things were being put away and if so we are sorry that you missed a complete breakfast.

Our high speed internet is new and the corner rooms in the hotel shouldn't make any difference in the quality of the reception anymore. The high speed internet is available in all of our guest rooms, meeting rooms, and public areas of the hotel. Please let us know on your next visit if the quality seems better for you. We have Comcast High Speed Internet and must call them if we need service. Usually the internet works fine except if there is a bad storm or a rainey day.

We are renovationing and doing some painting during January & February and some of our guest rooms have not had the new head boards or the paintings put back in the rooms yet. Hopefully everything will be completed within the next 30 days. Thank you for your comments and please hurry back. Jim Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toccoa ga
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Recently stayed at this Clarion and was highly disappointed for the money. The rooms were OK definitely not the cleanest that I have stayed at. The front desk was definitely not the friendliest person in the world and the breakfast was well below average especially for a Clarion. We visit the area often and like the group of hotels on the Merchants Dr exit and this so far is our least favorite. Again especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Knoxville, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We all thank you very much for your comments. The Clarion Inn Knoxville tries to price our hotel at a very good rate for our area. We are part of the largest hotel chain in the world, Choice Hotels, and we have won their Gold Award for customer satisfaction and nice clean rooms.

There are several all suite hotels with higher rates and several smaller properties with lower rates in our area and we try to stay at a reasonable rate somewhere in between. The Clarion has 123 rooms with balconies and indoor corridors and an extensive Continental Breaksfast with several hot items like eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and belgin waffels.

We sometimes have to use hard boiled eggs instead of scrambled eggs and improvise a bit when we have home football games, convention groups or sports groups in the hotel that amount to 300/400 people or more for breakfast, in order to provide better service

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us and I ask to to please call me personally and I would be happy to make your next visit more affordable and enjoyable.

Thank you and have a geat day! Jim Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Checking in late Friday night after an arduous day of travel, I received a warm greeting and swift check-in. The hotel was very clean (don't know what some of the previous reviewers are talking about) and it looks like some updating has recently taken place. The room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast was nice. I would have given a top score, if I hadn't been in a room on the side that faces the highway - even with the room darkening curtain pulled, I was still aware of truck traffic much of the night. But the way the hotel is situated, half the building faces this way so it is what it is. But there are cute little balconies on each room, and it was nice to be able to open the sliding door and get a feel for the weather.
I will stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for an odd numbered room to be away from the highway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoogieWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Knoxville, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The room my sister and I stayed in was not clean..no Kleenex the people at front desk wasn't friendly the bathtub didn't drain the floor in bathroom had hair on it the beds were hard had a musky smell leak under sink in the vanity .the breakfast was the only thing I can say anything possitive about and u know what a continental breakfast consists of..

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank brendao49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Knoxville, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I am very sorry to hear about your experience during your stay with us. Our Housekeeping Staff is trained to inform our front desk and management about anything that is out of order or that needs repair in a guest room and it looks like this time we failed to do our job.

There is no excuse for the problems that you encountered. I am sure that you reported these problems to our front desk staff so that we could address your concerns right away or move you to another room so I will check with them to see why your problems were not taken care off.

I just got back from vacation and would like to personally inspect the room that you were in. Please send me an email with the room number that you were in or your full name and the dates that you stayed with us. Email: jimsullivan.clarionhotel@comcast.net Thank you, Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#38 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites Knoxville
MainStay Suites Knoxville
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#45 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#27 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Knoxville East
Days Inn Knoxville East
#42 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Knoxville

Property: Clarion Inn Knoxville
Address: 5634 Merchants Center Boulevard, Knoxville, TN 37912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeting Facilities: 48'x24' Conference Room that can be subdivided into two 24'x24' meeting rooms. High Speed Internet in all meeting rooms, guest rooms and public area.Catering: Full catering for breakfast, lunch and dinner is available. Quick box lunches for group luncheons or bus tours are available on just one days notice.Business Center: Available for all hotel guests 24 hours a day.Outdoor Pool: Very large outdoor swimming pool.123 beautiful sleeping rooms all with balconies and indoor corridors. New TV's and all guest rooms have recently been painted and refreshed to look and feel like new! Most rooms have microwave, refridgerator, coffee maker and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Kognitiv US Corp and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Clarion Knoxville
Clarion Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing