We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable!”
Review of Select Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Select Inn
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
“Very comfortable!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my sat at the Clarion! Just wanted to let you know that I had to switch or recharge 3 cards to get in my room. Not sure how that happened... But otherwise a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Be sure your card works before you bring up your luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 343DavidB343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. Sometimes these new electronic key systems get fussy and we will make sure that everything works well on your next visit with us. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
55
42
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Spent one night here and enjoyed the stay. It is definitely an older property but had a nice large flat screen to watch! Plenty of parking as we were towing our trailer. Breakfast was adequate - but biscuits and gravy are the only hot items. Everything was really clean in the room, lobby, etc - but ALL of their windows need a good washing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkLakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Guest Relations Manager at Select Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate you're comments and promise we will strive to improve and meet your expectations during your next visit with us. There are hot waffles, eggs, sausage, oatmeal and biscuits & gravy plus all of the cold items for breakfast but sometimes if it's near the end of the breakfast hours (9:00am on weekedays & 10:00am on weekends) our breakfast hostess tends to take away many of the items and clean up. I'm not saying that this is what happened but during your next visit we will make sure there are plenty of hot items for you. Thank you and we all look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I travel a lot in the southeast US and La Quinta is the hotel of choice, but I couldn't find one at this stop so I booked this Clarion. I don't know if they're all the same but once you get past the rather plush lobby, these rooms are just smaller, cheaper La Q rooms.

The bathroom had old ceramic squares floor and small plastic sink area crammed with towel holder, hair dryer etc. The calking around the tub enclosure was cracked and peeling. The wide screen TV was okay but no HD signal defeated the purpose. When I had to do some quick video edits on my laptop, I realized how much I take for granted La Quinta's large work desk and multi plug-in strip. This desk was tiny and cheap with one outlet. I had to unplug the lamp to plug in the video camera.

One notable exception was the pillows. They were not too hard, not too soft, just right. But for $75/night, Clarion is in the upper range of La Q's and frankly, I don't see how this one justifies it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We all thank you very much for your comments and wish that you enjoyed a whole lot more than our beautiful lobby during your visit. Your comments were reviewed by our ownership, management and our entire staff at our staff meeting and we promise to make your next stay much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Everyone was so nice and hospitable. The room was clean and just what we needed for the night. We liked the location and breakfast was good. It was a good deal all around!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate all of your very nice comments about our Clarion Hotel and the staff that we are so proud of. We strive for that Good Ole Southern Hospitality. We love our friends from Canada and have many visitors from Canada each year. Please stop by the desk and say hello during your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Our room was very clean, service great. The hotel clerk had baked cookies and filled a display case, great touch, fabulous cookies. Continental breakfast very good, included hot items. We will return every trip through to Florida and back to Ontario.

Room Tip: Always look before you book anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeptee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsully11, Director of Sales at Select Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for all of your kind words and we love to review these comments with our entire staff. Please stop by and say hello when you make your next trip to Florida and back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stopped for the night on Oct. 25, 2011. It was our first stop at this hotel, about 10:15 PM, We checked in and showered to get a good nights sleep. While in the shower I noticed severel places in the tile grout that had mold in it (6 or more). when I reached to get a towel, a wash cloth fell offand it was relly dingy & stained badly..We were so tired that my husband said we would show it to management in the morning.we went to bed.They desperately needed fabric softner. The sheets were extremely rough. At check-out my husband ask for the manager & was told they weren't there, he showed the wash cloth to front desk & was told they didn't know how it got there, he mentioned the mold & mildew & they didn't appear to be the least bit concerned. No apology or anything.. We were appalled at the disinterest of the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Go to the Hampton Inn, Even if you are a Choice Member
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaBear3024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stay at this hotel every UT game. The hotel is 5 miles from the University of Tennessee. The lobby is very nice, the check in is fast, rooms are clean, not fancy but not run down, breakfast is good, location is great because at this exit there is Starbucks, Cracker Barrel, Waffle House, Red Lobster, Outback Steak House, El Chico, Hooters, and lots more. Pool is nice too .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntitanterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites Knoxville
MainStay Suites Knoxville
#30 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#41 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#50 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
0.4 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Inn

Property: Select Inn
Address: 5634 Merchants Center Blvd, Knoxville, TN 37912-3459 (Formerly Clarion Inn Knoxville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Select Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Clarion Knoxville
Clarion Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing