We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fun night”
Review of Irish Times Pub - CLOSED

Irish Times Pub
Cuisines: Irish, British, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
224 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Had a fun night”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We headed over to Irish Times for a girls night. We were looking for music and didn't want to drive downtown. I cannot comment as the food since we didn't eat here but the drinks were good and the beer was cold. There was a live band, not the greatest but fun enough. We had a blast dancing. Good mix of people at the pub, early 20's on up to much older. Didn't have any problems with riff-raff, I have heard they won't tolerate it. Definitely will go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    9
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great decor, average food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Cozy restaurant in Turkey Creek shopping area. Almost feels like a real Irish pub (almost) considering it's in a shopping plaza. Food leaves something to be desired. Been to several Irish restaurants and usually get Shepard's Pie (or in their case, Cottage Pie). Did so here, and was really disappointed. All it was was ground beef with frozen mixed vegetables and mashed potatoes (probably instant) on top. Not what I expected. Service was just okay, not particularly attentive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Irish Restaurant in Knoxville”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Irish Times is a great place for lunch or dinner. Full bar, good selection of draft beer and good Irish/English meals. The service is good and the menu selection broad enough to permit everyone a wide variety of selections. Decor is nice trying to replicate a Pub - there is outside seating in the front of the restaurant facing the parking lot - go inside to experience a more traditional pub atmosphere. You should not be disappointed with your dining experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Timetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They do NOT care about customer service”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We recently moved out to Turkey Creek and looked forward to having a neighborhood bar we could walk to. Unfortunately, we will find a bar other than Irish Times. Here is a story that should make you think twice about going.

We went to dinner there earlier tonight with some friends. We ordered a bottle of wine. The waitress brought us out two glasses of wine plus an unopened bottle. She said the bartender made a mistake and that we were getting the glasses of wine for free. We were excited. Later we found out that we in fact had to pay for the two glasses (which we didn't order) as well as the bottle! This was ridiculous. The bartender made a mistake, we were told that we would get something for free, and then were given the shaft. Of course, if we knew what the outcome would be we would have just sent the glasses back initially and kept the bottle we ordered.

This makes absolutely no sense. Why would you upset the customers to cover your behind because you made a mistake? Not a good business strategy. This is no doubt a reflection of the ownership because most bartenders would have the flexbility to cover this.

I will tell the rest of the households in the HOA to take their business elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cvossler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“not really pub-ish”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

not like a real irish pub, but it is east tennessee. i guess if you throw some pictures of ireland on the wall and show a lot of 'football' you can call yourself an irish pub. the food was ok. the guinness was great

Helpful?
Thank oilyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Times Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing