We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

The Crown and Goose
Ranked #132 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Willow Street
Transit: We are just a few blocks walking distance from downtown Knoxville and Market Square.
memphis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff was friendly and the service was very good. The bar is beautiful and inviting. The food was wonderful. We ordered fish and chips and the gobble gobble turkey dinner, both of which were delicious. The beer selection is great. The location is wonderful and there are many shops and galleries to check out before or after dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgec391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    84
    37
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a great night, friendly warm atmosphere. Food was tasty, staff were lovely. The British part of the menu made me chuckle......would definitely return. Good value. A great night out!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Who has two thumbs and likes the cheese plates? This guy.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Crown and Goose has tasty food and an interesting atmosphere. I was hesitant to go here after a manager from this establishment had caused issues for another establishment that I frequent, but I figured I wouldn't hold the restaurant as a whole accountable. The food is far from authentic, but it is still quite good. I really like that they have free parking in their own pseudo-secure lot. I would go back, but only if I have a lot of extra spending money as it is very expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
199 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“You Gotta Love It”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

There's not much about the C&G that's remarkable, but you've gotta love it anyway. The menu has been pared down considerably from a few years ago, but they do a pretty good job with what's left. There's a nice energy in the place, and the staff is friendly. It's unpretentious, clean, and a little offbeat. You won't be blown away by the food here, but you will probably enjoy yourself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
189 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“mixed bag”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

often clever ... nice presentation ... good, attentive servers, although our last one's advice was poor (her "really great...personal favorite" salmon was greasy & short on limp side items). Other dishes at our dinner were more attractive ... lucky we're a sharing family. Overpriced wine made dinners less of a bargain than the menu indicated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank centaur41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown and Goose also viewed

 

Been to The Crown and Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing