We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better than first impression” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Kingsport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than first impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

When we first pulled up, yellow construction tape blocked car access to the lobby, piles of old carpeting were stacked up outdoors, and a decaying restaurant next door obviously had been closed for a long time. But, going to the front desk, we confirmed that yes, the motel was open for business despite the ongoing renovation. Our first-floor room was very clean and adequate despite a garish decor (one wall bright red, another dark yellow, and just one cheap landscape print on the wall.) Two queen beds were both very comfortable, A-C worked well, and bathroom had an unexpected extra -- whirlpool bath. A few minor demerits -- TV remote malfunctioned and had to be reprogrammed, cigarette butts littered the sidewalk, card key failed on Day 2 and had to be reset, and soundproofing wasn't adequate to block out guitar-playing neighbors. On the plus side, the free hot breakfast was above average, and staff was very courteous and attentive. Housekeeping was excellent. Wifi worked fine, and the large circular table near the window was handy for spreading out paperwork. The driveway is off a side street from Route 11, and the motel is in the rear of a partly vacant office complex, so finding it the first time is a bit of a challenge. Lots of restaurants within a half-mile drive, and it's convenient to downtown, Colonial Heights, and the interstates. A good choice for the budget-minded who can live with deficient cosmetics. Once the renovation is complete, it may look a lot better. We may return in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachcomberT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
21
23
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here while visiting family. It is an older hotel,but it is very clean and comfortable. They also have a microwave and larger sized mini fridge. I stayed five nights and when I would return to my room at the end of the day,my room was immaculate with fresh sheets. They staff is also nice and accommodating.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The staff is the best part of the place. It's an older hotel. Needs updated and some work done on it. As the room I'm staying in now has paint feeling off the doors. I've stayed here quite a few times and is usually a good place to rest your head. Be sure to lock your doors as there's been a few times housekeeping enters your room without knocking first. Rooms are usually clean and never any funky smells. But an overall decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conductor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My daughter lives in kingsport so we stay there a lot and we stay at the Red Roof because it is pet friendly without the extra charges. Staff is friendly and rooms are clean and smell nice. Pool is clean and nice . Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: I love the king rooms with sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been staying at this motel for over a decade and it was once a pleasure. It was at one time a Comfort Inn and maybe under different ownership. The exterior is now deteriorating and the landscape is not being maintained as in the past. Poison ivy is taking over the shrubs around the pool. We were traveling with a pet this time and were assigned non smoking room on the first floor that reeked of cigarette smoke. We spent one night in the stench then after complaining to management the room was nicely deodorized. Amazing. Top notch housekeepers at this inn.

We found the wi-fi useless in our room and not much better in the lobby. The Red Roof rates are good but we gladly pay to get more. The Chinese soap slivers and shampoo in the rooms speaks loudly of where this motel is headed.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. For a quieter room go for the second floor. All rooms open to outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Absolutely the very best RRI we have stayed. Room was comfortable as we always choose a King room for the space it provides. Surprised with the full breakfast they provided and it was wonderful. If we are ever going that way, in spite of the fact that it's about 7 miles off I-81, we definitely will stop there again and recommend it to anyone going that way!

Room Tip: All rooms are relatively quiet but ones away from the cliff overlooking 11W would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here on a road trip to Nashville. I pretty much expected a clean place to sleep and that was about it. Let me say, quite surprised with the overall decor and value. The room was spacious and well maintained. The couch and bed were not fashionable, but comfortable nonetheless. Additional amenities made this place a worthwhile stop even if it was in a vacation spot. Everything we had was beyond our expectations for a place that was less than 60 bucks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your visit with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
3.2 mi away
Travel Inn Kingsport
Travel Inn Kingsport
#11 of 17 in Kingsport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Kingsport
Quality Inn Kingsport
#10 of 17 in Kingsport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kingsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kingsport

Property: Red Roof Inn Kingsport
Address: 100 Indian Center Ct, Kingsport, TN 37660
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kingsport 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kingsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing