We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not like it used to be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Kingsport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been staying at this motel for over a decade and it was once a pleasure. It was at one time a Comfort Inn and maybe under different ownership. The exterior is now deteriorating and the landscape is not being maintained as in the past. Poison ivy is taking over the shrubs around the pool. We were traveling with a pet this time and were assigned non smoking room on the first floor that reeked of cigarette smoke. We spent one night in the stench then after complaining to management the room was nicely deodorized. Amazing. Top notch housekeepers at this inn.

We found the wi-fi useless in our room and not much better in the lobby. The Red Roof rates are good but we gladly pay to get more. The Chinese soap slivers and shampoo in the rooms speaks loudly of where this motel is headed.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. For a quieter room go for the second floor. All rooms open to outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
21
24
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Absolutely the very best RRI we have stayed. Room was comfortable as we always choose a King room for the space it provides. Surprised with the full breakfast they provided and it was wonderful. If we are ever going that way, in spite of the fact that it's about 7 miles off I-81, we definitely will stop there again and recommend it to anyone going that way!

Room Tip: All rooms are relatively quiet but ones away from the cliff overlooking 11W would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here on a road trip to Nashville. I pretty much expected a clean place to sleep and that was about it. Let me say, quite surprised with the overall decor and value. The room was spacious and well maintained. The couch and bed were not fashionable, but comfortable nonetheless. Additional amenities made this place a worthwhile stop even if it was in a vacation spot. Everything we had was beyond our expectations for a place that was less than 60 bucks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your visit with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this property several times while house hunting in Kingsport. Great value for the money! The rooms are not fancy but they were overall clean and neat. I have stayed at the Hampton Inn and Meadowview Conference Center in Kingsport and for the money had no qualms with this Red Roof!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mhaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
On behalf of our hotel staff we were delighted to receive your kind words of praise. Thank you we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was in the area on business and needed an economy place to stay just for one night. After looking at the options, I decided to try the Red Roof Inn. The room was clean and quiet though the hotel is very close to the highway. The negatives were the shower soap provided and the shower head. The soap was one of those tiny bars typically for hand washing. Its hard to use in the shower. The shower head did not have much pressure and the water kind of "drizzled" out. One other negative concerned the breakfast area. When I went into the lobby early in the a.m. a woman was on her hands and knees cleaning the floor...nothing unusual there. I ate breakfast and as I was putting my trash in the garbage can, the same lady was in the breakfast area checking on the food items. Now while I cannot be sure, I do not think she washed her hands after scrubbing the floor and she was NOT wearing gloves. I just closed my eyes and left. Overall, I would stay there again for the rate but would probably pass on the breakfast.

Room Tip: I was on the side nearest the highway but the room was quiet. Overall, it was a good value since I j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I will pass on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

A compliment sandwich:

pro ... comfy beds, spacious rooms.

cons ... of the 8 rooms we needed, 5 sets of keys did not work. Of those 5, 3 sets did not work again and guests had to be assigned to new rooms. One room smelled of smoke (room 149), one did not have any bedsheets (room 135?), and one the microwave was running and the buttons were unresponsive forcing the guest to physically pull the plug on the possessed machine - creepy (room 151). In total, the front desk night shift guy had to make 19 sets of keys, when he really should only have had to make 8. This was unfortunate because the night shift guy was sweet and friendly, but a bit geriatric, and the day staff hadn't had the forethought to make 8 sets of keys in advance knowing a) a large party was arriving that day, and b) who was working that night. Because it took us over 1.5 hours for our entire group to check in, I would not stay again at the Red Roof Inn in Kingsport if they paid me.

pro ... delicious breakfast.

Conclusion: management ... please get new electronic key cards and key card makers out of respect for your staff and customers - no one should have to go through what my group + Jimmy had to go through. And please encourage your front desk staff to have the foresight to make keys in advance for large parties. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyk1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Our apology for the electronic key cards not working. The problem has been resolved. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Bed bugs in room. Dirty rooms and roaches in the breakfast area...front desk guy was very rude. Avoid this place and stay at another hotel. The Ramada is clean and have friendly staff! You have been warned!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steelman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We have a exterminator that services our property and no bed bugs have been found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingsport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
3.2 mi away
Travel Inn Kingsport
Travel Inn Kingsport
#12 of 17 in Kingsport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kingsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kingsport

Property: Red Roof Inn Kingsport
Address: 100 Indian Center Ct, Kingsport, TN 37660-4625
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kingsport 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kingsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing