We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granny's cookin'”

Lynn Garden Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 250 Restaurants in Kingsport
Restaurant details
Southeast
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Granny's cookin'”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you want down home, deep fried, home cookin without the hours in the kitchen and you don't have a mamaw anymore, this is the place to go. Fried chicken, soup beans, mashed potatoes, veggies and banana puddin' or cobbler!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthernSweetT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the home cooked food! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. We hope you'll come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    7
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good eats.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Walking into this restaurant was like stepping back in time. The long counter and round top swivel counter stools, 4-top tables, and booths were reminiscent of a 50's diner. The restaurant was clean and well kept and the first sign of good food was the number of cars in the parking lot at 2pm. The food was indeed good. I had a hamburger and crinkle cut fries which were both fresh, hot and exceptionally good. The others in my group had meat and three's and agreed that their's were very good as well in the expected southern style. The only exception was that the mashed potatoes were not "real".

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We like to think we've kept the nostalgia alive at Lynn Garden Restaurant and are glad that you agree! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking the time to post a review about our restaurant. Thank you again and we hope you'll come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Okay, I pretty much spent the first five years of my life dining here with my father and his friends at the North Kingsport Fire Department, but rediscovered it on a trip home to see my parents in 2010. It did not disappoint. They have a great selection of "Old School" and comfort foods. It is also a great place for us vegetarians, as they have an extensive vegetable menu and out of this world fried cornbread. My mother loves the chicken, and they have a rather good selection for the salad bar. The prices are great! You can get dinner for 3 for generally less than $20, including drinks, etc. ( Please tip well, the waitstaff are very friendly and hardworking) You have to try the macaroni and tomatoes, southern comfort food. Try it all. At these prices, you can afford to!
Love the atmosphere. It is very googie/mid-century, something we Gen Xers can appreciate as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princessofmirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We're so glad that you visited while back in town. We appreciate our customers and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please join us again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“food is great”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

You MUST try the buffet. the chicken is the best. Breakfast is good . but the service is iffy, but friendly. Mostly an old fart hangout;

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RonC527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Owner at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the food and friendly service. We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. We host a lot of civic organizations for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and other social events, so it is not unusual to see larger groups or tables of folks in the restaurant. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Thanks,
Mike Kerney, Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Old school service and atmosphere at its best”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The LGR is a great local spot for good wholesome food and folks. We mostly enjoy their breakfast..ask for $2.99 special/not on menu but great deal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Owner at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the food and definitely agree that LGR is an institution! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Thanks,
Mike Kerney, Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynn Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
Kingsport, TN
 

Been to Lynn Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing