We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best hotdogs I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T K's Big Dog - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
T K's Big Dog
160 Broad St, Kingsport, TN 37660
(423) 245-6300
Improve this listing
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best hotdogs I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

TK's Big Dogs started out as a cart. He would move around and be in different spots sometimes, and the hotdogs were so good we would drive around town looking for him until we found him! We were so happy when he opened a sit down place because we didn't have to search any more. The prices are not bad. You can get 2 dogs, chips and a drink for around $6 which isn't bad for lunch and you leave full! There is no extra charge for toppings on the hotdog and they have a wide selection. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderprone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Church Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great dogs and excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Some of the best hot dogs around! Very clean restaurant and friendly service! Always a favorite and will continue to go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jqwalleye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

TK's is our favorite place to eat lunch in Kingsport! Sadly, we only get down there once a month on the week my hubby is off. His favorite is 2 New Yorks Nathans dogs w kraut and spicy mustard, with chips and a drink.This is one of the specials. I am a little more adventurous and have tried just about all of the offerings! That being said, I would walk quite a ways for a TK's authentic Chicago Dog! OOOOOH MYYYY! The staff and owners are super and always have time for a kind word and a smile, even when very busy. They will take time to explain the various dogs to you if you are a newbie. That kind of service in today's world is a rarity and deserves to be commended. I like their lemonade and I also really like a Nathans dog with their awesome chili and nacho hot cheese on a pretzel or steamed bun! The pretzel bun holds up better with the pile of chili and cheese, still, you may need a plastic spoon to eat it all up. We can both have lunch with two dogs, chips, and a drink for about $12. Heck, you can't even eat fast food for that! We always take family and friends for lunch when they come to visit. Can't go wrong!
Hint: They only take cash, so come prepared.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rugzmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A good dog of any breed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

If you are in Kingsport try TK;s, if you are close by it is worth a fairly long detour. The service is excellent, the dogs are the best you will find in the south.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank K-nine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“For Hot Dog Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

They have big variety of different fixin's to dress their hot dogs and polish sausages. Not a chain, and that is what makes it really good. Take a walk and see all the sculptures on display downtown to work off your meal!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T K's Big Dog also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing