We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,prices and service.”

Molcajetes Mexican Grill
Ranked #38 of 246 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Kingsport,TN
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food,prices and service.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you have not eaten here, then you should. I have eaten a lot of Mexican and this place is great. Always friendly and prompt. Good food and prices are good. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting Mexican food in the tri-cities.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandjmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Same old same old”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Your stereotypical East TN "mexican" food. As a former TX resident this is barely above microwave quality /tv dinner quality. Its not that bad but also not that good. If you need a place to "flop" and eat something cheap I suppose it would do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Same as Taco Bell -- Actually - Taco Bell is better!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I grew up on Mexican food on the Texas/Mexico border. This has to be the WORST Mexican food I have eaten in my 60 years. Rolling taco meat in a tortilla and pouring red sauce (tasted more like spicey marinary) does not make an enchilada. The taco's at Taco Bell or better and cheaper!. Whenever we travel we always try and find great Mexican food using Travel Adviser. I've had great luck until now! The owner may be Mexican but he has made it Tennessean....

If you ever end up in East Orlando Florida give AZTECA a try. We have waited 16- years and finally have a great Mexican restaurant here.

I should have tried the tamale's, but then again they are more difficult to make than enchiladas and tacos.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jparker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not the best Mexican food ever but very good”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great service, good food served hot and fast, Margaritas are above average. A good value and worth a repeat visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank K-nine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“, simple basic atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I went for luch and did not go away hungry! What an amazing value for your dollar too.

Interesting choices on the menus mean there is something for everyone.

The location is very simple and basic, but you can't disagree with the quality and value if you are looking more for good food vs. fancy atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandidOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molcajetes Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Molcajetes Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing