We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not the best Mexican food ever but very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molcajetes Mexican Grill

Molcajetes Mexican Grill
Ranked #26 of 236 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not the best Mexican food ever but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great service, good food served hot and fast, Margaritas are above average. A good value and worth a repeat visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank K-nine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“, simple basic atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I went for luch and did not go away hungry! What an amazing value for your dollar too.

Interesting choices on the menus mean there is something for everyone.

The location is very simple and basic, but you can't disagree with the quality and value if you are looking more for good food vs. fancy atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CandidOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport TN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I love Mexican food the first time I ate here I was not impressed but it deserved another visit and this time was very good

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank theLman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Local "Best Mexican" winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Based in a converted old Wendy's location, Molcajetes has won in a local newspaper poll for Best Mexican more than once. Lunch specials are a bargain.

Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Hill, Tennessee
1 review
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The best mexican food in the area , comfortable seating and everyone was friendly the waitress was Hot she looked so good i almost forgot about the food but it was good too.The lady at the register didnt seem to friendly , maybe she was having a bad day .We got our food fast and refills as we wanted ,plenty of chips. I forgot to leave a tip because the first waitress must have took a break and i forgot , next time i will leave a 20 and a phone #

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molcajetes Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Molcajetes Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing