We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food”

La Carreta Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 246 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food at this location is good for not being Tex Mex that we enjoy so much in Texas, the staff is courteous and friendly and the prices are reasonable. We had the fajitas, mix of chicken and steak, they were tender and cooked just right. A little hard to maneuver to their parking lot as you have to cross other lots to arrive but worth the maneuvering.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Church Hill, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad but not authentic”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Typical "Americanised" Mexican food...nothing authentic about it. I've had the real deal several times before, and the food at La Carreta doesn't even come close. It's not at all bad as I have never gotten a bad meal there and the service has always been good...just not authentic as they advertise. I have returned and probably will return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jqwalleye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My second favorite Mexican place.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've eaten here many times and have yet to get bad food. Service is good to excellent and the tea is awesome if you like it brewed and sweet. Two locations in Kingsport and both have the same great quality. Personally I recommend the fajita quesadilla. Order queso and pour some on the quesadilla. It's heavenly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Fare”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I finally tried the cute restaurant across from the hotel we stay at in Kingsport. We loved it. I had the giant quesadilla and he had the California beef burrito. Oh, my goodness! Both were huge and both were awesome! The salsa and chips were bottomless and great, too. The guacamole also very good. Our waiter was nice and gave us great service. We will definitely be back next time we are passing through.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great place to eat Mexican food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The restaurant is a bit out of the way but is well worth the drive. The interior is very beautiful with the stucco walls and the bold colors. The food is geat!

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to La Carreta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing