We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same as all the rest”

La Carreta Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 246 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Same as all the rest”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing sets this place apart from most all the other Mexican places. Food is good enough and service was ok, not great. If you like all the other Mexican restaurants you will like this one as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fast Mexican.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Quick service, chips& dip keep you going while you wait for meal. I think the price for dipping white cheese is to expensive! I get it anyway because I like it. I don't think the food is the same at all locations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fair Food.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We used to eat here all the time, but the food tastes mostly like ground beef, not authentic mexican flavors. Our chili releno consisted of a big pile of ground beef,diced onion, cheese, and one small sliver of a pepper.Not acceptable at all!!! I would and do prefer Cocula, on stone drive. The food there is authentic mexican and you get a whole green chili with the releno!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank map p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We will definitely put this one at the top of our list. The service was excellent. The food was the best ever. My husband and I shared a chicken fajita and a burrito. The portions were very generous. Everything was very appetizing.
They have 3 locations in Kingsport, TN and 1 in Gray, TN.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank treemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
348 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great food served fast. Prices can't be beat. The new chairs are very heavy but they are beautiful. Very good margaritas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank K-nine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to La Carreta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing