We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, horrible service.”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
1 review
“Great hotel, horrible service.”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

When I walked into the hotel the woman at the front desk looked at me as if I was a burden and risky asked "did you reserve earlier?" that's it, no hello. I asked about restaurants nearby for breakfast and the woman in the morning just shrugged and said, "I'm not sure."

The hotel was new so it was in great shape.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karamcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
42
12
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stay in this Comfort Suites frequently when I am working in the Tri-cities area. This hotel is very new and right off of the Highway, which makes for easy travel for me. The hotel is nicely decorated, very spacious, and has all of the basics. The rooms are very clean and spacious, nice TVs, sofa area, work desk, night stands, and closets. Every room is equipped with a refrigerator and a microwave. Must haves for me when I travel. The fitness center is small but all of the equipment works. They have a nice pool area and a standard continental breakfast. The staff are hit or miss. I have had wonderful hospitality here and I have also had not-so-wonderful hospitality here. Nothing terrible, just inconsistant. The one girl at the front desk seemed much more interested in her facebook page than in helping me get checked in and getting change to do some laundry. Overall this is a great location with great facilities. Perfect if you are staying in the tri-cities area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Enjoyed staying at the hotel. It is new and everything is still in great shape. Check in was efficeint and the room was nice. Two minor negative comments. The breakfast area is large and the food was well prepared, but the coffee bar is separate from the rest or the area. Good idea, but it took a bit to figure out where it was. A sign or arrow perhaps? Secondly, some of the common areas like the halls and in the elevator had floors that could have been mopped more often. I was there for three nights and the same spill was there each day. That will deteriorate the fince condition of this hotel too qucikly

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmc8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed one night when we were too tired to drive home after seeing the light display at Bristol Motor Speedway.
Room was very clean and big!
Breakfast was very nice and good selection!
Front desk was very courteous and attentive!
I would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

All good except breakfast. Food not hot attendant did not keep coffee restocked. She had a surly attitude. Bad ending to an otherwise vey nice stay.

Second stay, same as first. If they would put more attention on replenishing breakfast I would rate it very high. Bacon gone at 7:30 coffe out eggs nearly gone. request to resupply never brought any bacon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSTAsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a new hotel as of last December and everything was comfortable, clean and nice. We had no problems and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYt0AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Our family was not given towels on the fifth night of our stay at the Comfort Suites. The two previous nights, we'd had to request towels so on arrival the fifth evening, we stopped at the desk and requested towels. The desk employee (James) said there would not be any available until the morning and he could only give us wet or dirty ones. He stated he didn't know how to operate the dryer. I asked him to contact his supervisor to remedy the situation. He reached the general manager (Charlotte Childress) by phone and she refused to take any action. She also told him to tell us there would be no refunds. I asked to speak with her and restated the situation, expecting a resolution. I asked her to instruct her employee how to operate the dryer or contact someone that knew how. She said she did not know how to operate the dryer and her laundry staff was gone for the evening. I said that as a paying customer, I expect to have clean towels for my family of 5 after a day of playing in a basketball tournament and she stated "If you had that many people in your party, you should have brought more towels". I reminded her that the reservation was for 6 and insisted that she somehow get us towels. She said, "It's quiet time and my laundry staff has gone home." She continued to refuse to provide towels to us. Guests of the hotel that overheard the problem offered their towels to our family and there was NO resolution offered from the desk employee or general manager. After check out, WE WERE CHARGED TWICE FOR OUR STAY AND IF YOU REQUEST LATE CHECK OUT, THEY WILL CHARGE YOU FOR AN EXTRA DAY!

Room Tip: Get all the towels you need from the maids while they are on your floor! Other guests told me that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALWspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 16 in Kingsport
466 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Kingsport
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Kingsport
Quality Inn Kingsport
#13 of 16 in Kingsport
78 reviews
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
#8 of 16 in Kingsport
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 3005 Bay Meadow Place, Kingsport, TN 37660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing