We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A experience with the past”
Review of Netherland Inn

Netherland Inn
Ranked #11 of 24 things to do in Kingsport
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A experience with the past”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Kept in pristine condition, the Inn has period guides. Cabins in rear are also well-kept. Excellent way for children to learn history-adults, as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
341 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Over the years we have tried to visit this property 3 times, ( we live in the UK) on two previous occasions it has been closed. This time we discovered that it is only open at weekends 2pm-4pm. we were delayed through no fault of our own and did not arrive until 3.30,only to be told we could not be admitted to the property,because it is by conducted tour only, and the last one started at 3pm. Each tour apparently lasts 45 minutes, and when we asked if we could just have a quick look around, the volunteer lady was adamant that we could not as the main door was already locked. Therefore, it really means you have to be there at 2pm or 3pm, which is not explained any where, and so yet again we were disappointed. This is not the sort of welcome or hospitality we have become used to in this part of the USA and so next time we return to Kingsport we will not even bother to try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to visit & Learn”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife & I visited Kingsport from England to see a good friend who managed to persuade a guide at the Netherland inn to open for us out of season as we could only visit for a short time. The whole experience was amazing and the Guide was very informative explaining things about the Inn and the times it went through and the people who were guests over the years. In fact she explained it so well one could have almost seen and heard things fro times gone by in ones own mind. We hope the US keeps it's history alive with paces such as these and their wonderful Guides who do a marvelous job. Thank you so much to the folks that run this amazing charity. They rely on donations so please be generous when you visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Colonial charm”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Netherland Inn is a lovely and charming place to visit on the river. A lot of history there. Enjoy the grounds, the Inn, the scenery.

Helpful?
2 Thank lmblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fascinating Tour and History”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A beautiful 3 story structure that served as a boat yard, stage coach inn and tavern, a home and a boarding house throughout the years and now a fascinating museum along what was back in the day the main route to Western Kentucky and Middle Tennessee. You tour all 3 floors: the 1st floor is the tavern, the 2nd floor is the family quarters, and the 3rd floor are the guest rooms all furnished in period pieces.

The tour guides are very knowledgeable and personable which makes for a wonderful tour.

There is a replica of a late 1700's flat boat across the road from the house near the Holston River.

Along side the house is a small pretty flower garden. In the back of the house are 3 log cabins.
Daniel Boone and his family's log cabin that they lived in from 1773 to 1775 in Duffield , VA was dismantled and brought here. You can tour the inside of it. The other 2 cabins is a replica of a 1790 log school house and the 1880's Pence cabin and neither of these could you tour, but they were nice to see just the same.

This Kingsport piece of history is worth seeing and hearing about.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Netherland Inn also viewed

 

Been to Netherland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing