We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food, long lines” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purple Cow

Purple Cow
Ranked #14 of 241 Restaurants in Kingsport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, long lines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everyone is correct about the long lines but if you love the food, you'll sit in line time and time again. I usually get the burgers and fries. If I compared them to Pal's (a very similar drive-thru) I'd give Purple Cow an 8 and Pal's a 5 on a scale of 1 to 10. Ask for a menu, take it home and next time just call your order in. The amount of stuff on that menu is mind boggling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    32
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good burgers. Hard to get. Long lines equal long wait.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

All I have ever tried from Purple cow are their burgers and fries.There burgers are really good. Love the double cheese burgers. If unsure just go with the special. For less than three bucks you can get a burger loaded, fries and a medium drink. Word of advice if they have a line pick a different restaurant. Their menu is huge and everything is prepared to order so the line moves slowly. Funny if they took about 100 or so items off their menu I think they could get people through quicker and sell more food. Also be prepared to eat in your car as the Purple Cow is drive through only. Anyway if the line is short stop and order. Good burgers and good prices. Worth trying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very average drive thru”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Was driving thru and thought I would try the Purple Cow. Stopped and got a steak bomb and fries. The fries were good and the sub was ok. I would rate it higher if the bread had been better. The meat had been good. If I ever have the chance I would try them again but get something that didn't come on the same white mushy roll.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have only been here a couple of times, and just can't understand why this place is SO popular. The food is mediocre (with the exception being their milkshakes, which are amazing and come in every flavor imaginable), and the line is usually backed out into the road. The menu is enormous and you can't read it until you actually get to the window to order, which is probably why the line moves so slowly.

And also, the people working there look filthy and the thought of them preparing my food is rather sickening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purplecow1648, Manager at Purple Cow, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
So sorry to hear that, we try so hard to make everything right and we only use the best quality of food. It is hard to train people to have the love and passion of food like we do. We keep everything clean and sanatize and all of our employees wear clean uniforms and hats and keep their hair pulled back. I am sorry that you had a bad experince with us.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“dah”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Cheap - Cheap- Cheap- dont expect a quality burger but you wont be paying for quality either, you get what you pay foy. the lines should not be in the street and if you are pressured for time - dont bother getting in line. i would rather go to burger king.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RonC527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Cow also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing