We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad News Lodging.”
Review of Comfort Inn South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn South
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Reviewed August 19, 2008

This place is dirty and sloppy.

The room was adequate but nothing better. Fairly clean, but had a terrible feel to it. The window looked out on a parking lot where and old bathtub and various other items were stored in one corner. The furniture in the room and softgoods are tired and worn or scratched..

The public areas of this hotel are dirty and beat up. I wonder how many weeks since the public area carpets had been vaccumed.

The second floor hallway smelled terrible from disinfectant or air freshener. I don't want to think what this heavy use of odor-covering scents was covering up. The carpet was dirty and had many areas where paint chips had been knocked from the wall and left lying on the carpets, particularly in the corners.

The entry lobby at this hotel is dark and dank. The employees are sloppily dressed and appear to think the hotel is run for their pleasure and convenience -- not for us poor travelers who made the mistake of booking a room here.

I came back one day around lunchtime and the free breakfast area was filled with all the employees eating their sack lunches and leftovers from home, talking and laughing loudly while ignoring a customer at the desk.

The computer in the "business center" was out of service the second day I was there and the desk person did not offer help or offer to let me use one of the two terminals at the desk. Just wanted a quick check of my email. The person on the desk said of the broken computer: "maybe it will work later or maybe it's just having a bad day." Does Choice, Sleep and the local operator not train anybody to do anything?

Choice Hotels should looking at yanking this operation's franchise.

This was a loser hotel even by the low standards of an older Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Checkemout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaicee, Manager at Comfort Inn South, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2009

During the time of the bad review from the guest we in the middle of remodelling.We appologize for any inconvenience that he had during is stay.I am sure the that they
would not have any complaints if they stayed at the motel on there next business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2008

I stay at this hotel regularly due to my work and have found it to have a nice decor, and a clean room with a very comfortable bed to sleep in. The price is very reasonable and all staff members were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IrishCreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

My favorite of the many good things about this motel was the desk chair. Usually I have to pile pillows or books or whatever else I can find on chairs in hotels to make using my computer at the desk comfortable. The chair in this motel was adjustable! I also liked that the room had a wired net connection, which I prefer to wireless, and that the plug was conveniently located behind the desk (as opposed to across the room, something I've encountered in some hotels/motels). My only complaint is pretty trivial: the location of the coffee maker. You'd have to be a giant to be able to use it without fumbling around above your head. Unless something strange happens when I go to check out in a few minutes, I give the Comfort Inn South of Kingsport a definite A.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank NM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: De beste tip die ik kan geven is dit hotel voorlopig maar even over te slaan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Analo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Kingsport
143 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 16 in Kingsport
101 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Kingsport
Quality Inn Kingsport
#13 of 16 in Kingsport
79 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 16 in Kingsport
482 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South

Address: 4624 Fairlane Dr., Kingsport, TN 37663-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great day is a great night at our newly renovated Comfort Inn South in Kingsport Tennessee. We are conviently located near the Tri-City Airport and Bristol Motor Speedway. Whether you are here on vacation or a business traveler our friendly staff is ready to make sure your rested and ready for your busy days ahead. We invite you to come and relax in our newly renovated rooms featuring : Premium Bedding , 32 in flat screen televisions, refridgerators and microwaves . Lots more amenities await your arrival here at Comfort Inn South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing