We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Only in emergencies!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn South
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only in emergencies!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling to Florida from PA and wanted to stop near the VA/TN border. I did not know there was a NASCAR race in a few days so most hotels in the area were booked. I learned this at the Tennessee Welcome Center. A welcome center person made several calls to find us a hotel a little further on our route as we had been on the road all day and wanted to stop soon. She found vacancies (needed 2 rooms) at the Comfort Inn. It was obvious why there were still rooms here. The hotel is in need of remodeling and a good cleaning. The beds were ok for one night but not very comfortable. Also, my sister's room had stains on her bed spread. The tile on the bathroom floors needs replacing--grout is nasty. No one vacuums along carpet and trim. The breakfast selection was poor. The parking lot is in bad shape. The stay would have been more tolerable if we had not paid $75 for what I would call a low budget hotel. In addition, there was a $1.50 "energy charge" which was a new phenomenon for us. I would never stay here again and I will check for events before traveling without reservations again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
15
11
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I traveled from Fl. and stooped for over night at this hotel. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom was large with a nice shower head. (handicap room). on first floor.
I had a small trailer and I could not get in to the rear parking lot. The front one was full. Had to park on the street. Breakfast was only some small donuts, muffin and coffee. Very disappointing.
Will stay again only if I need to. Many other hotels in the area maybe much nicer.

Room Tip: Average motel for one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Breakfast was donuts and coffee. Vending machine states health violation and what hotel makes the door knobs go up instead of down. No one knew how to get in their room. Right off I81 but Very disappointing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharyld4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchland, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

booked this on our way to pigeon forge, got there the pool was closed! its summer time & it looked as if they had no intentions of opening it! thankfully i got there before the time was up to cancell, we went next door to the holiday inn express that had a very nice indoor pool

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip end of May, 2012. It's typical for a "mature" Comfort Inn. Inside corridors are a plus. Room was a bit worn, and the sheet metal bed pedestal was actually broken. It made loud noises, but did not collapse, thankfully. Bathroom was TINY and the countertop was extremely small. Not even enough room to spread my toiletry bag open. TV had most of the cable channels, but had not been upgraded to Flat-Screen, which is starting to be a disqualifier for me. There is NO FITNESS ROOM! Business travelers might find that unacceptable as well.

Breakfast was typical Choice Hotel fare. At least the eggs were a rubber-sole omlette kind of deal and not the screw-ball powdered scrambled eggs Choice properties usually serve. Go with the hard-boiled eggs if you want eggs.

WiFi was OK. Supported Netflix.

AARP Rate was $72.89, which is not a bargain for the location. Feels more like a $59.95 hotel to me. Probably will not use this one on my next trip to Tri-Cities area. Not a good value and needs some work.

Room Tip: All are probably the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is another Choice property that is worth the stop over if you need clean comfortable accommodations. Front desk personnel are extremely friendly and helpful. Very good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Rose, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Had to come down the road because of bad experence in Bristol, But very very very glad I did. This hotel was 100 time nicer than the comfort inn in Bristol, Staff was great and very helpful, Breakfast could hve been better, although I think that when the breakfast is good because I live in Hotels. Hotel was just off interstate 81 with a Perkins right next door (10% discount with your room key). Room was clean and hotel was very nice. The only thing was the parking lot is very small. I have a large vehicle so this is just a issue to me if you are in a car there is plenty of parking. The Value was excelent rate was over $10.00 less than in Bristol.

Room Tip: stayed on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsport
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 17 in Kingsport
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Kingsport
Comfort Suites Kingsport
#7 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#2 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South

Property: Comfort Inn South
Address: 4624 Fairlane Dr, Kingsport, TN 37663-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Comfort Inn South 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing