We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of Motel 6 Kingsport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Kingsport
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stopped here on our way to KY and I wish we'd checked the room before agreeing to stay. It was too late at night to get back on the road and find something else. The first disappointment was the rate. We saw "best rates", "value rates", etc. for 20+ miles advertising this hotel. The $94 rate for a week night was outrageous for the room we got. When we arrived to the room we had double beds and thankfully only needed one because one of the beds had a nasty spot on the bed cover. There was mold on the bathroom wall and cobwebs in the corners. The breakfast was good for a hotel breakfast and unfortunately the highlight of our stay. Oh - we also had the pleasure of explaining to our daughter what was sitting outside another room - it was parts from a toilet tank. All I could think of was - gross and what a liability hazard to have it sitting out for guests to fall over.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMBuchanan6201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2009

The staff are very friendly - I felt like I was a valued guest in their home. The room was great - I'd bought some food that had to be kept cold and the fridge was definitely big enough. I appreciated the internet service. There is a restaurant just steps from the hotel and after a day of driving I was glad to stretch my legs. if I was passing through or visiting Kingsport I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AngloAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Walked in with a coupon book in hand on Christmas night about 10pm. The woman at the desk was great - personable, friendly, and helpful. We got one of the last rooms available, and found it clean and comfortable. Would stop again when passing through the area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMLMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Stayed at the BW Colonial Inn for one night while on a road trip through TN. Room 216. Corner room at the back of the hotel. Selected hotel based on coupon in travel booklet picked up at the Welcome Center at the TN/VA state line. I recommend you look at these when crossing state lines for reduced rate coupons. I find they are even less than the best internet rate!!

Desk attendant was very welcoming. Was very polite and check in was easy. Coupon accepted without hassles. She was knowledgeable about the area and helpful in giving directions. Proceeded to room. Room was clean and presentable. Mid grade furniture was in good condition. King bed was comfortable. Wireless internet access available (free of charge). Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker in room. Sink outside bathroom. Bath/shower and toilet in separate room. Small but adequate. Towels adequate.

No frills continental breakfast in lobby. (breakfast area was under renovation but staff did a great job at turning the lobby into the breakfast area).

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cooperpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Just returned from a trip to TN and Kentucky. Stopped at the Tourist Information Center after traveling 10 hours by car to see about a room for the night. We asked for something reasonable as we were moving on the next day. They sent us to the Best Western. We usually check out rooms first but we were so tired we just booked it. We were sorry after. There were stains on the carpet and chair, dead bugs in the light fixture in the bathroom, crack in the tub and something spilled on the wall behind the table. The sheets and everything else were clean and the staff was very pleasant. The breakfast was satisfying. We were told that they might take something off the price of the room when we checked out and told them about these things but the computer was down. We arrived home and week later and called because we hadn't received a formal bill. We were told the total over the phone and it was the same as when we left but we still have not received the bill. There may be a chance they may reduce the price. Don't know how the other rooms were. We may have gotten the prize, Room 108.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestIslip_NYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2006

This is a typical roadside motel with exterior entrances. I moved here after trying the Comfort Inn up the road (closer to I-81) which was not clean.

The rooms at the Holiday Inn Express are basic, but at least they are clean. I didn't have any problems in that regard.

There is a large grocery store just up the street, and several restaurants in the area. If you are partial to Mexican or Indian food, the Mexican and Indian restaurants are both surprisingly good (way better than I would have expected in this part of the country). These are both within a few doors of the hotel on the same street.

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguy20824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Kingsport
143 reviews
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 16 in Kingsport
44 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 16 in Kingsport
101 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South
Comfort Inn South
#10 of 16 in Kingsport
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kingsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kingsport

Address: 4234 Fort Henry Dr, I-81 Highway 36 @ Exit 59, Kingsport, TN 37663-2228 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range: $54 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kingsport 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Tri City Airport, Fort Patrick Henry Lake, Washington County Fairgrounds, East Tennessee University, University of Tennessee, Wetlands Waterpark, Medview Convention Center, Eastman Chemical Plant, Boone Lake and Kingsport Convention and Visitors Bureau. The Colonial Inn Kingsport offers guests free Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 9 am, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, fax/copy service, free parking and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, microwave, mini-fridge, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock, electronic door locks and wakeup service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Kingsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Kingsport
Best Western Kingsport
Kingsport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing