We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the low rating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Kingsport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Kingsport
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the low rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

OK, this is not the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in but I've paid more and got less. Disclaimer: It was late in the evening, I'd been driving all day and wanted a place near the interstate with a place to eat nearby. The Colonial Inn filled my simple requirements. Yes, I was lead to believe it was a Best Western but it wasn't a deal breaker because it wasn't. The CI is certainly showing its age but it wasn't dirty like others have claimed and I got a good nights sleep. The man at the front desk was friendly, helpful, and suggested the Crazy Tomato next door - also good - not great - but you're in Kingsport, TN, which is somewhere in TN along I-81. Breakfast also met my expectations, again, pretty simple: bowl of cereal and a yogurt. Considering the price I paid this was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    9
    7
    18
See reviews for
13
15
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is advertised as Best Western Colonial Inn on Garmin, Google, etc. but it's far from a Best Western. I have never slept in such a pig sty in my life. I took pictures of urine stains on couch. The bedspread had blood and possibly urine stains on it....we threw it over on the couch. Neither my husband or I slept very well...didn't even take out our toothbrushes....just got up a few hours after checking in and left. Got to our next hotel before showering. My husband woke up in the morning with his socks on...I couldnt figure out why....until he showed me the blood/candy stains on the sheets. This place is a disaster!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Colonial Inn for a Nascar race in Bristol, which is about 20 minutes away. Check in was simple, the gentleman at the counter was super nice and told us of all the restaurants nearby who offered discounts by showing your room key. The hotel is an older property and had it's quirks. The bathroom sink drained very slow and the exhaust fan made a horrendous noise when first turned on but the room was clean, all of the staff were very friendly and I would stay here again. If you're looking for a fancy place, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a good nights sleep, it works just fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefa1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APPLETON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

You get what you pay for. The room was less than comfortable. First sign was the leaky faucet in the bathtub. I pushed down the shower button, and red/rusty/brown water came flowing out. The bathtub was not clean. The phone did not work. There wasn't a coffee pot for the coffee maker. The "fitness room" does not exist. There wasn't an alarm clock in the room. I had made the reservation in December online, however when we arrived, it took a while for someone to come and register me. There wasn't a reservation that he could find but thank goodness I had printed off my confirmation email from Travel.com. The maid came in while we were out and left on the lights. The beds were not made but the towels were replaced. The toilet paper was not filled however the empty Kleenex box was replaced. The carpeting feels sticky. There was not vending machines for ice. We were here for 4 days and will never come back again nor refer this "Bates Motel" to anyone else.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAWN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for a couple of our construction workers that were doing a project in the area and needed a decent place to rest and relax. However this place was beyond nasty, the shower curtain would not stay up, the tub looked like it had never been washed and was filled with rust and mold in the corners. The bed smelled horrible and the sheets, well they would have been better off sleeping in their dirty work clothes. The breakfast was a joke, a piece of sausage that was wrapped in plastic to heat in the microwave.
We travel all over the southeast doing commercial roofing and have stayed in many places and this one is by far one of the worst. I'm actually sorry we had to waste our money on such a nasty place. Don't waste your money and stay here not even as a last resort. Please choose wisely. I hope this review helps others not to make the mistake of staying here.

Room Tip: No room is good, the hotel is old, smelly and the staff are not friendly either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is your average motel when on the move. The room and bathroom were clean, if not very new or tastefully decorated. Equipment (fridge, iron) was in good condition and the bed was comfortable. In the morning, we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, although it mostly consisted of the usual oversweet fare of muffins, biscuits and waffles.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Momou_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millers creek nc
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i thought going be ok. had poo on bathroom toliet. beds dirty. the breakfast room nasty. had cob webs in the blinds. please close and the motel. before you make someone sick or die. i never saw maids. only man on duty. place was strange,wish could say was ok but. outdated needs help.

Room Tip: rooms back hotel is more for handicap person
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 17 in Kingsport
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Travel Inn Kingsport
Travel Inn Kingsport
#11 of 17 in Kingsport
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South
Comfort Inn South
#13 of 17 in Kingsport
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#2 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kingsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kingsport

Property: Motel 6 Kingsport
Address: 4234 Fort Henry Dr, I-81 Highway 36 @ Exit 59, Kingsport, TN 37663-2228 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kingsport 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Tri City Airport, Fort Patrick Henry Lake, Washington County Fairgrounds, East Tennessee University, University of Tennessee, Wetlands Waterpark, Medview Convention Center, Eastman Chemical Plant, Boone Lake and Kingsport Convention and Visitors Bureau. The Colonial Inn Kingsport offers guests free Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 9 am, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, fax/copy service, free parking and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, microwave, mini-fridge, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock, electronic door locks and wakeup service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Kingsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Kingsport
Best Western Kingsport
Kingsport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing