We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the Tennessee country-side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a full-blown Marriott golf resort, tucked away in the Tennessee countryside. We found it almost by accident. The "drop-in" rates we got were phenomenal, so it was a no-brainer to stay here. While there were a couple wedding parties going on, the property seemed almost empty. We rarely ran into other guests, even in the restaurant. Our kids loved the expansiveness of the lobby, conference center, rooms, and the property as a whole.

(This is a full conference and convention center, so it is rather large, with ample facilities. We found out that it is owned by Eastman, who uses it primarily for their conferences and employee or corporate guest lodging.)

Everything about this property was solidly up to the Marriott standard, except the service. While the front desk was friendly and polite (as expected of a Marriott), they didn't recognize my Rewards status, or ask to help with bags, parking, and amenities (all expected of a Marriott). In fact, I'd go so far as to say the bell captain seemed reluctant to interact with me. Twice, he gave me a cart, instead of offering to help with the bags. Much worse was the restaurant service at the The Meadows. Priced like a 4-star restaurant, the service would have been bad at Denny's.The hostesses handed us menus and pointed at our table. At dinner, our server, didn't know the specials, the drink menu, or really anything about what they were serving. He didn't clear any dishes, and completely disappeared half way through dinner. Getting our check was such an issue, I almost had to go the the hotel front desk to resolve. We had the same cold shoulder from the host n the morning, though our server was much better.

I think that we'd stay here again, probably will. But we'd either use the lobby bar for food, or venture out into the local area.

Room Tip: There probably isn't a bad room in the place, as all rooms look out onto the golf courses. The p...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Nissley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 438 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Marriott MeadowView. We enjoyed everything from check in to check out. The service, food, bedding, pool and hot tub were excellent. Thanks for an enjoyable stay and the friendliness of all staff.

Room Tip: wi-fi is free in lobby and in public areas, but does cost I thing $12/day for in room wi-fi.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TBaby1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you love golf and/or a relaxing place to stay - this property fits the bill. Front desk staff was very nice and prompt to solve any issues. Check on the breakfast with the check-in. It is not included and can understand how that might confuse some that are used to complimentary breakfast at most Marriott hotels. Exercise room was a bit better than most locations. It is right on the golf course and easily accessible from the highway.

Room Tip: No issues with our 5th floor room and I couldn't determine anything obvious that would give some...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wade17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

For our wedding, we choose this hotel for our guests. We got a special deal for $99 for room without breakfast and $109 for room with breakfast for 2 adults.
Almost all our guests who booked the $109 were charged for breakfast on daily bases. They have to correct this on daily bases.
Even when we made a reservation through priceline for an extra night without breakfast for 1 person, they automatically charged 2 adults breakfast to the room although no one even visited the restaurant that morning. Again, we had to correct this before leaving.
The hotel is excellent regarding, location, building, facilities but it need better management and stop the automatic charging for a breakfast to all guests, I wonder if this is a daily mistake or a scam.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 6th floor supposed to have better TVs
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is my 2nd stay here and it was OK. Few little minor things but main concern was the a/c,2 different rooms and it wasnt very cold,almost acts if its restricted??? Maintence man was on the way for 1 hr,not sure where he was coming from but I gave up. Front desk staff was ok. Bar staff and restuarant staff were great and very friendly. Food is great too! Not a bad stay but could have been better for a Marriot. In the end management was sincere and happy to help out! Made it somewhat better!!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E, Manager at MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear sir,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay here.We learn from constructive feedback
to help our staff be more effective. We would like to research on our end the room where
the issue was with the A/C. We would really appreciate it !
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I booked my hotel stay at this hotel in advance. When I made my reservations I asked the lady if I was getting the Government Rate for the entire stay, to which she said yes. Upon on Checking In to the hotel on July 4, 2014, I was told that 3 of my nights would, in fact, be at the Corporate rate, which is about double. The lady at the desk checking me in was very smug about it, basically I had no choice. I came back to the desk and asked her again about it, roughly a half hour later, and she stated there was no one to call before Monday and nothing she could do, again very smug. I recommend you find somewhere else in this area to stay. Based on my experience, there is no guarantee you will get the rate you are quoted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank atcken55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E, Manager at MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Sir,

I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the government rate.
I realize you are still here at the Hotel and I will adjust your rate to the Government rate for your stay. We don't always have the government rate available and have asked reservations to forward your confirmation information to verify. I do hope you enjoy your stay and please stop by and ask for me at the desk.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is a big resort hotel located in the mountains of Tennessee. The hotel was clean, and the people working behind the front desk at check in were very friendly. Another good thing about the hotel would be the excellent view of the mountains from the room. My only complaint, though, would be that the hotel had very thin walls, I could here people talking down the hall. I will definently stay here again if I come back to the Kingsport area.

4  Thank illinifaninky
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 16 in Kingsport
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 16 in Kingsport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Kingsport
141 reviews
7.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
17.7 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1901 Meadowview Parkway, Kingsport, TN 37660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingsport
#1 Business Hotel in Kingsport
Price Range: $131 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, be productive and enjoy great accommodations at MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center. Our resort hotel in Kingsport, Tennessee offers a superior location near the scenic Smoky Mountains and close to Tri-Cities Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Meadowview Conference Resort And Convention Center
Marriott Meadowview Conference Hotel Kingsport
Marriott Kingsport
Kingsport Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing