We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the Tennessee country-side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in the Tennessee country-side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a full-blown Marriott golf resort, tucked away in the Tennessee countryside. We found it almost by accident. The "drop-in" rates we got were phenomenal, so it was a no-brainer to stay here. While there were a couple wedding parties going on, the property seemed almost empty. We rarely ran into other guests, even in the restaurant. Our kids loved the expansiveness of the lobby, conference center, rooms, and the property as a whole.

(This is a full conference and convention center, so it is rather large, with ample facilities. We found out that it is owned by Eastman, who uses it primarily for their conferences and employee or corporate guest lodging.)

Everything about this property was solidly up to the Marriott standard, except the service. While the front desk was friendly and polite (as expected of a Marriott), they didn't recognize my Rewards status, or ask to help with bags, parking, and amenities (all expected of a Marriott). In fact, I'd go so far as to say the bell captain seemed reluctant to interact with me. Twice, he gave me a cart, instead of offering to help with the bags. Much worse was the restaurant service at the The Meadows. Priced like a 4-star restaurant, the service would have been bad at Denny's.The hostesses handed us menus and pointed at our table. At dinner, our server, didn't know the specials, the drink menu, or really anything about what they were serving. He didn't clear any dishes, and completely disappeared half way through dinner. Getting our check was such an issue, I almost had to go the the hotel front desk to resolve. We had the same cold shoulder from the host n the morning, though our server was much better.

I think that we'd stay here again, probably will. But we'd either use the lobby bar for food, or venture out into the local area.

Room Tip: There probably isn't a bad room in the place, as all rooms look out onto the golf courses. The p...
See more room tips
Green Features: Was not aware that they were trying to be environmentally friendly....
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Nissley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    118
    33
    13
    13
See reviews for
101
71
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Marriott MeadowView. We enjoyed everything from check in to check out. The service, food, bedding, pool and hot tub were excellent. Thanks for an enjoyable stay and the friendliness of all staff.

Room Tip: wi-fi is free in lobby and in public areas, but does cost I thing $12/day for in room wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBaby1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegany
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you love golf and/or a relaxing place to stay - this property fits the bill. Front desk staff was very nice and prompt to solve any issues. Check on the breakfast with the check-in. It is not included and can understand how that might confuse some that are used to complimentary breakfast at most Marriott hotels. Exercise room was a bit better than most locations. It is right on the golf course and easily accessible from the highway.

Room Tip: No issues with our 5th floor room and I couldn't determine anything obvious that would give some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wade17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

For our wedding, we choose this hotel for our guests. We got a special deal for $99 for room without breakfast and $109 for room with breakfast for 2 adults.
Almost all our guests who booked the $109 were charged for breakfast on daily bases. They have to correct this on daily bases.
Even when we made a reservation through priceline for an extra night without breakfast for 1 person, they automatically charged 2 adults breakfast to the room although no one even visited the restaurant that morning. Again, we had to correct this before leaving.
The hotel is excellent regarding, location, building, facilities but it need better management and stop the automatic charging for a breakfast to all guests, I wonder if this is a daily mistake or a scam.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 6th floor supposed to have better TVs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is my 2nd stay here and it was OK. Few little minor things but main concern was the a/c,2 different rooms and it wasnt very cold,almost acts if its restricted??? Maintence man was on the way for 1 hr,not sure where he was coming from but I gave up. Front desk staff was ok. Bar staff and restuarant staff were great and very friendly. Food is great too! Not a bad stay but could have been better for a Marriot. In the end management was sincere and happy to help out! Made it somewhat better!!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E, Manager at MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear sir,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay here.We learn from constructive feedback
to help our staff be more effective. We would like to research on our end the room where
the issue was with the A/C. We would really appreciate it !
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I booked my hotel stay at this hotel in advance. When I made my reservations I asked the lady if I was getting the Government Rate for the entire stay, to which she said yes. Upon on Checking In to the hotel on July 4, 2014, I was told that 3 of my nights would, in fact, be at the Corporate rate, which is about double. The lady at the desk checking me in was very smug about it, basically I had no choice. I came back to the desk and asked her again about it, roughly a half hour later, and she stated there was no one to call before Monday and nothing she could do, again very smug. I recommend you find somewhere else in this area to stay. Based on my experience, there is no guarantee you will get the rate you are quoted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atcken55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E, Manager at MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Sir,

I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the government rate.
I realize you are still here at the Hotel and I will adjust your rate to the Government rate for your stay. We don't always have the government rate available and have asked reservations to forward your confirmation information to verify. I do hope you enjoy your stay and please stop by and ask for me at the desk.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmore, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is a big resort hotel located in the mountains of Tennessee. The hotel was clean, and the people working behind the front desk at check in were very friendly. Another good thing about the hotel would be the excellent view of the mountains from the room. My only complaint, though, would be that the hotel had very thin walls, I could here people talking down the hall. I will definently stay here again if I come back to the Kingsport area.

Helpful?
4 Thank illinifaninky
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Kingsport
Comfort Suites Kingsport
#7 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
17.8 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center

Property: MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1901 Meadowview Pkwy, Kingsport, TN 37660-7375
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingsport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Meadowview Conference Hotel Kingsport
Marriott Meadowview Conference Resort And Convention Center
Marriott Kingsport
Kingsport Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing