We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly, it's almost unfriendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“So friendly, it's almost unfriendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

So the title is a little negative sounding, and I'll get that out of the way first. My overall experience was very positive with one little caveat. 4 stars and deducted only one. The staff is so friendly that it can be exhausting. Sometimes you pass throngs of staff throughout the facility in groups of 3 or more as they move to rehab conference rooms between sessions, cleaning staff, front desk staff and front bell staff and have to say hi to every one of them which became almost uncomfortable. Every elevator ride, hallway pass, lounge stop and room cleaning staff. It was too much for me. The general rule: If someone avoids eye contact with you, they probably don't want verbal contact either.

That being said, the facility is in great shape, the surroundings look great, the entry is nice. The only places I could sense age in the facility was the button press on the elevator request buttons and the actual tile around the shower. Everything else felt as new as a new facility. The indoor pool and hot tub area was beautiful and the gym was extensive.

The room was exquisitely clean, and cleaned up to this standard daily. I was there for a conference and had fantastic food. The conference center could easily be a Vegas resort-- tall ceilings, glass walls, bold carpeting.

Check in and check out were both uneventful. The room on the 5th floor was very quiet. I had a friend staying on a different floor who had an end room and had a very long walk to the room.

If I had a need I would certainly stay here again without hesitation. It does feel a bit out in the middle of a field, but the city is only a few minutes and one exit away. Friends golfed and enjoyed it though the course was burned dry/dead and greened up some during the stay.

I tend to be a bit of an introvert and I expect a lot of hi's and hello's at Marriott properties, but this one was a bit too in my face for my preference. I wouldn't say any of it was fake but it was clearly very strongly encouraged because I felt like I was the weirdo not wanting to say 50 hi's per day as I walked from room to sessions and back.

Room Tip: The rooms are numbered abnormally, and the lobby is on the 2nd floor, not the first. Room 525 was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    118
    33
    13
    13
See reviews for
101
71
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice people. Good location. Food is great. Bar staff is especially nice. Wish they had a concierge lounge for gold members. A little pricey for location I think. Bathrooms could be updated but overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

They clearly serve a lot of people and its a nice resort in general. However, they only had 2 luggage carts which were never available for such a big place. The parking could have been better laid out too. Be ready to walk a ways to get back and forth. The rooms seem kinda outdated for a newer looking facility. And it's very had to find anyone or get anyone's attention at the front desk.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Suemc430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a rating of the restaurant. We recently ate a rather tasteless lunch buffet in the hotel restaurnt. The restaurant added an 18% tip. On top of that they also accepted an additional tip when my husband did not carefully study the bill. All the waitress did was bring us a glass of water and this after our meal was half over. She did not even clear the dirty dishes from the table. Shame on you!!! It has been our experience in other resaurants where the tip is already added to the bill, the waiter (waitress) will inform the guest and not accept the tip. As to the hotel, we have stayed there several times, but there are several other better and cheaper options nearby. The hotel rooms are small and the bathrooms are cramped. Regardless, don't bother to eat in the restaurant and if you must, be sure to study your bill very carefully. 18% to bring a glass of water to the table is absolutely ridiculous!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank READYTOGO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I recently stayed one weekend when the hotel had to have been completely booked. There was a sorority conference taking place in the convention center as well as a trade show, and also a wrestling tournament staying in-house. There were young kids with their families and college-aged women everywhere. Despite the busy weekend, the service was fabulous. Every need I had was met with a staff member that went above and beyond to ensure my satisfaction. From pointing lost guests in the right direction, to finding a product not sold regularly in the gift shop, the staff was top notch! On Sunday, when checking out, I left my pillow in the room and drove 3 hours home before realizing it. I called and was able to speak with someone that same day to make arrangements for it to be shipped back to me. For excellent service and hospitality, be sure to stay here!

Room Tip: I stayed in a Corner Room with two walls of windows to let in plenty of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaSomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for making the trip to MeadowView and staying with us during that busy weekend. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the service you received from the team. As you know, it is important to maintain a high level of service on the weekends as well as the weekdays and I'm pleaed to see that this was the case. I will share your comments with our Hosts, I know they too will appreciate your taking the time to recognize them on Tripadvisor. Please come and visit us again sometime soon and I hope your favorite pillow has arrived back home.
Thanks again,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Very pleased. Marriott has done a nice job with this place. Checked in by Becky, who was outstandingly friendly and met all our needs. She recognized my platinum status and upgraded without even asking. I stay in lots of Marriotts...this was great!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rangers93-94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Exceptional front desk customer service...Warren went above and beyond to help. Everyone was friendly and attentive.We attended the Appalachian Athletic Conference Men's and Women's Basketball Tournament. It was a perfect venue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalTeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Kingsport
Comfort Suites Kingsport
#7 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
17.8 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center

Property: MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1901 Meadowview Pkwy, Kingsport, TN 37660-7375
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingsport
#1 Business Hotel in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Meadowview Conference Hotel Kingsport
Marriott Meadowview Conference Resort And Convention Center
Marriott Kingsport
Kingsport Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing