We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice stay in Kingsport Cattails golf at the Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kingsport
Certificate of Excellence
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Kingsport Cattails golf at the Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hi gang,
Stayed here on a golf stay-n-play package Sept 2013. Arrived later in the day so I postponed my golf until morning of checkout. We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the golf course and countryside. EZ check-in with very friendly and helpful staff. WiFi is free for 3 hrs in the lobby but be ready to shell out $12.95/day in your room. Room was very nicely appointed. Nice large bed, comfy with spacious room and complete bathroom. Went to the seafood buffet in the evening. $28 p/p or so. Not as spectacular as I would have expected, but in the backwoods of Tennessee, acceptable. They offered steamed, hot crab legs and a variety of other foods but I felt the selections bordered on the lower side of quality offerings. Service was okay, environment very nice. There were a coupla conventions and weddings going on while I was there and everything looked like it was handled very well.
Onto the golf. I had called from home prior to my Southern States trip to arrange a tee time. I arrived early and although they tried to charge me the $47 green fee I explained I had a package and after a minute's research, no problem. I started off with the rising sun directly in my eyes. My playing partner was a local but no help when it came to watching. I've come to detest Bermuda fairways as your ball settles down 1-2 inches when it stops. Unless you're directly over the ball, you'll never find it. Front nine was meadow-like with lotsa water hazards thrown in. I didn't find the front 9 particularly appealing. Now the good stuff: The back nine was fantastic. It has elevation changes, doglegs and character !!!!!!! I shot a 1 over on the back because it was more user-friendly, better laid out and generally just more fun.
If you can swing a stay-n-play package, by all means do so. Golf staff is friendly (Southern charm), starter on 1st tee very nice and didn't see a course marshall all day. Biggest frustration came from hitting a 230 yd drive and not being able to find it if it ventured a coupla yards off the fairway. A must play in Kingsport !!!
Rich

Room Tip: Ask for a high-up room overlooking the course (book well in advance) and enjoy the course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nothreeputts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    115
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
99
70
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We love a good Marriott, beautiful property overlooking a nice golf course. We were in the middle of a long road trip vacation and needed to be pampered. Front desk staff was very nice and the bellman/woman was a breath of fresh air, had my clubs at the pro shop waiting for me. The king suite was nicely appointed with a great balcony overlooking the course. However I was shocked to see a black stain on the toilet top that I quickly cleaned before my wife saw it. The glass table and nightstand had glass ring marks on them.....I expect more from Marriott. The room service was great and we enjoyed the mountain air. Will return hopefully to a cleaner room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke VA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend stay here and was very pleased with everything! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, bar staff attentive, food in the restaurant was delicious, and the room was well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. Each room has a mini-fridge hidden in the TV console. I had a room with a balcony and enjoyed sitting there after dinner enjoying the view while visiting with friends. The only negative is that wi-fi in the room has an additional fee of $12.95 per day. This is my first Marriott stay where wi-fi was not included in the price of the room and offering free wi-fi would have made this stay absolutely perfect. I highly recommend this property when in the Tri-Cities area. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachboundfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Meadowview Marriott. We stayed here for three nights for a wedding. The property was well kept, the room was spacious (we had a balcony) and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The layout of the rooms is a little odd -- with long winding hallways. The upside is that you don't really hear the other guests. The downside is that it takes a long time to walk anywhere.

Both the room service, and the hotel restaurant were very, very, good. The hotel staff was both friendly, and welcoming. We had a baby with us, and housekeeping was more than accommodating. Parking is free (valet has a charge.)

The negative -- we were here for a wedding, and the event staff was lacking. They arrived late the day of the wedding, and we were forced to run interference between them and the bride. They were slow to set up, and to decide where the ceremony would be held (due to rain). They basically did the bare minimum required to hold an event. The bridal "suite" was a joke (same room as other guests, just with more windows) as was the room for the bridal party to get ready (just an empty room that had not been dusted or cleaned.) Surprisingly, the food was average, at best, which was odd since the restaurant and room service food was very good.

Overall, stay here. Play golf. Eat, drink, and be merry. Do not get married here, unless you are okay with spending a ton of money for a little return, except pretty photos.

Room Tip: Get a balcony. Skip the "suite."
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean, comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms, newly remodeled lobby, and great food and service - everything you need in a hotel. PLUS a golf course and convention center! Convenient location to I-26, I-81, and everywhere in the Tri-Cities.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was just a stopover on the way to Cherokee NC glad we choose this hotel. Very nice high end hotel everyone was very friendly and helpful. I booked this thru Priceline name your price and was very surprised at the price I was able to the room for. They had given us a king room with a balcony overlooking the golf course very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a King with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jm3534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Inn, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Charges a fortune for what should be free WIFI Many Marriott have complimentary breakfast not this one. They think they are in New York instead of East Tennessee. I will not stay there again. I recently learned that very near by hotels do NOT charge for WIFI or BREAKFAST. Look for more bangs for your bucks. It's right under your nose. Meadow view can do better and should for their clients across the country where sister Marriotts provide free the services mentioned. A small gift that would go far for a better review. Sorry folks you need to
realize these services are complimentary elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmays26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#2 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Kingsport
Comfort Suites Kingsport
#7 of 17 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
17.8 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center

Property: MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1901 Meadowview Pkwy, Kingsport, TN 37660-7375
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingsport
#1 Business Hotel in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your MeadowView Conference Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Meadowview Conference Hotel Kingsport
Marriott Meadowview Conference Resort And Convention Center
Marriott Kingsport
Kingsport Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing