We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed and Breakfast Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Overlook

The River Overlook
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kimberlin Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Overlook
Columbia, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Bed and Breakfast Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This lovely bed and breakfast was beautiful and very accommodating. Everything was clean and the hosts were lovely. The breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Everything you could have wished for! A full country breakfast! We will definitely be back and are already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebdial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

A beautiful setting with great hospitality. Breakfast was incredible. If you go please think about staying for than one night. I recommend you planning on taking advantage of the canoes they have available to go down the river, too.

Room Tip: Either one would do
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krausehouse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for two lovely nights during a trip to Knoxville in early December. The B&B sits on a bluff with a wonderful view of the river and of the fields on the other side. The location is peaceful and silent, and we were glad we'd chosen to stay in the country. It's close enough to Knoxville that getting back and forth was no problem. Jerri and Earl were welcoming and friendly and Jerri's breakfasts are great and will keep you going all day. She's an incredibly sweet person, too. We stayed in the Tennessee room which has a sitting area, which we like. The B&B is designed with high ceilings and has a spacious feel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archaeotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We played a tennis tournament in Knoxville a few weeks ago and are always looking for a place to stay besides a hotel room. I was glad we found this place. A spectacular view. All of our friends loved the pics we posted on Facebook. The rooms were super cozy and comfortable. The beds slept great. Jerry and Earl were very accomodating and the breakfast was superb. My only regret was that we didn't get to stay around the house more and relax. Will definitely plan on staying here again when we return to Knoxville. Check it out. Way better experience than even an upscale hotel.

Room Tip: both rooms have a fireplace and are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thunder49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Jerry and Big Earl were warm and friendly. They welcomed us into their home. The B&B is beautifully decorated, clean with spacious rooms. The view is amazing. A little off the beaten path, it's worth finding this place. Good value and graet breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csthacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

I can highly recommend this B&B, as my husband and I just stayed there on our way cross country. It is a beautiful new home, high on a bluff overlooking a wide river in an area of gently rolling hills, yet it is not far from the interstate. The home is beautifully designed and furnished, and Jerrie has thoughtfully supplied all the amenities you will need for a very comfortable stay. It is by far one of the nicest B&Bs we have enjoyed in our many years of traveling and staying at B&Bs. Breakfast was delicious, the view and atmosphere is just beautiful, and Jerrie and Earl are such wonderful hosts. Go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

I researched and looked for a B&B in the Knoxville area for a quick weekend get-away. All the areas B&B's seemed to have an abundance of bad reviews...then I stumbled upon The River Overlook. From the 1st phone call to Jerrie, I knew this was the place to go...and I was not disappointed. Jerrie and Earl are very gracious hosts. The rooms are perfect, the breakfast wonderful and the view of the French Broad River spectacular...watched the geese fly by as we sipped coffee and visited with Jerrie and Earl in their living room. I highly recommend this B&B...it was great and Jerrie and Earl are the best. Loved it!! I will be back...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The River Overlook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Overlook

Property: The River Overlook
Address: 7855 Kodak Rd., Kimberlin Heights, TN
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kimberlin Heights
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberlin Heights
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing