We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure Maven goes to Bomba's”
Review of Bomba's Fresh Italian - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bomba's Fresh Italian
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Adventure Maven goes to Bomba's”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went with local friends to check out new Italian restaurant Bomba's. I liked the stylish atmosphere for the quaint small town. The calamari app was decent. However, the fresh aspect of my meal was lacking. The salad was OK, but the meatballs tasted like they were either packaged or reheated from frozen. The website claims that they offer the freshest home made taste, and I would beg to differ. I will say that the service was great. Our large party received the attention and personal service on which Bomba's prides itself.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adventure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This new restaurant was just ok.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went about 7 on a Tuesday. The place was about 60% full. Our waitress was pleasant and attentive. She was young and inexperienced. The owner had to show her how to open a bottle of wine. The food portions were large. The appetizer was only partially cooked. The salad was large and the entree's were hot and large. The food was not great, not bad, just ok. The owners had friends or family show up and sat down with them so we never heard from or talked to them again. They did not even say thanks or say good night as we walked by to leave. Probably wont go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drslowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was wonderful!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went with my girlfriend to Bomba's to eat dinner. We were seated almost instantly, the table and chairs are nice. The menu has a good selection we chose the calamari as our app, and it was fantastic! For the entree she got the eggplant Parmesan which had a thin layer of batter and was nice and crisp. I got the chicken alfredo that also was excellent, the sauce not too thick with great flavor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Where is the wait staff?”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Friday night was slow here. But several questions to staff were left unanswered other that "let me ask." Water glasses
never refilled. Bread was not
baked in restaurant and dipping oil left a it to be desired. Bomba burger was
very tasty and Caesar salad was delicious. One at my table said entree was too salty, seafood scampi. Sunday brunch menu was disappointingly boring. Was hoping for creativity and energy of a
new restaurant but it just didn't happen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigitotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food, terrible ethics”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Seven of us Red Hat Society ladies ate here in Jonesborough Tn. Our food was so burnt that the hamburger actually crumbled on the edge when touched, the fries were so salty that they all went back to the kitchen along with six of the seven dinners ordered. The waiter said that this usually happens when meat is ordered well done. What makes me so angry is the fact that the waiter knew the food was burnt, served it anyway and then had the gall to present us with the bill. If we had not make such a stink, Bombas would have made us pay for meals that we could not eat. SHAME ON YOU.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomba's Fresh Italian also viewed

 
Jonesborough, TN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing