We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross....No value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnson City
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Travelers and Priceline shoppers beware! This is definitely not worth the price of admission! Rooms have a less than pleasant aroma, carpet is dirty, chairs soiled, inside of windows dirty, bugs in window sill, paint peeling off bathroom ceiling, and the cable wasn't working (reported to front desk but nothing done). Just sorry that my family spent their hard earned money on this disappointment of a motel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I do apologize for any problems you may an encountered during your stay. We have sold all of our rooms several times recently and I have not received any comments like these. I will assume issues in this room were corrected. Your comments are extremely important to me and I appreciate you taking the time to bring anything and everything to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We walked in the room and it smelled musty. The carpets in the hallway looked nice but upon entering the room you will be surprised by the lack of upkeep an care of the rooms. The cable didn't work in our room and when we pulled the tv from the wall we found bare wires hanging out of the wall. When we notified management we were informed that three other rooms had cable issues. Chairs are soiled in the rooms and doors are horribly destroyed. This hotel needs serious renovations and staff that cares about their facility. This is not up to Holiday Inn standards!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

To this guest, I certainly do apologize. I do not want any guest at this hotel to experience a bad stay or experience any situation that can quickly be corrected during the stay. I can not think of any room that would have so many things wrong. We have 24 hour maintenance and day and night housekeeping service. When a guest has an issue hopefully we can react and correct. This is a very good hotel. I hope on your second visit you request to see me. I will be happy to met with you, answer any questions, and prove beyond doubt this is a good hotel. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I hope you don't have a sense of smell! The rooms are disgusting! They are so dark! The room has a tv but no cable. It's a beautiful hotel but it's absolutely disgusting. They DO NOT have continental breakfast, and after seeing the rooms, I would never pay to eat at their restaurant. It smells musty and like mold! It is also VERY dark!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelseyann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Honestly do not know about any "smells." The reason we do not have a free breakfast is because we are full service with a restaurant that sells food. I believe you have confused us with the Holiday Inn Express. I am sorry your visit was not pleasing. We work very hard to ensure guest satisfaction to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Pros
Easy access to everything. People were generally friendly.

cons
Wifi is terrible. Drops you every 3 minutes and signal strength is terrible.
Plugins are hard to get to so plugging in laptops was a chore.
Coffee was terrible.
Refrigerator barely gets cold.

Next time I am in Johnson city, I am looking elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

I am very sorry you had problems with wifi dropping the signal. We have not had anyone alert us to internet issues recently so I hope this was an isolated incident. Our coffee is a Holiday Inn branded coffee and we have never had anyone say the coffee was not good. Again, I do apologize for the areas we did not meet your satisfaction. The staff and I work very hard on all levels of guest satisfaction. I invite you, please, to give us a second change to be of service to you. I thank you for your comments. When issues are brought to our attention we try very hard to make corrections. I hope you will consider staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

1st class all the way around. Room was excellent, staff, facilities.
Tri-cities miata club with the Holiday Inn had everyone a red carpet welcome!
5 stars out of 5
The rooms were clean, the lobby spacious and the grounds devoted to our group .. dedicate areas to wash cars and our own parking lot to line up the Miatas before heading out to each event!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarheel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

5 Star rating you gave us is certainly appreciated. Thank you for your great comments about the hotel, housekeeping, and everything about the hotel. We want you to know we "love" the Miatas. We looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

King Room on the Executive Floor
First the Pros: Pet Friendley, Good Location, Good Air Conditioner, Nice Towels, Clean Bathroom.
Now the Cons: Room was Dark and Smelly,(Even with all Lamps on) Halls reeked of Cigarettes. Very Thin Sheets, Small Pillows,
Dirty Carpet, Worn out Mattress( husbands back is still hurting from it)
Not enough accessible electric outlets. Overpriced!!
Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken P, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

I apologize our facilities did not met your satisfaction. We try very hard for all our guests to leave with a good experience. I do appreicate your comments. I am pleased to announce that in September, when we slow down, we are planning some upgrades. Most hotels do upgrades each year during the slower part of the year. Most of our guests are pleased with their stay. We will go over your comments during our managers meeting. It is guest such as yourself that help us work even harder to improve. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was here with the Tri-Cities Miata Club and was pleasantly surprised at how the hotel staff devoted themselves and the grounds to our group. The front desk staff was friendly and professional (and very supportive of our group, wearing the official 'Zoomin' the Tennessee Mountains' t-shirts).

The rooms were clean, the lobby spacious and the grounds devoted to our group .. dedicate areas to wash cars and our own parking lot to line up the Miatas before heading out to each event!

The hotel has been upgraded with modern decor, although I wish they had up'd the counter height in the restrooms as well. At almost 6 feet tall, the 32 inch counter height is just too low and the shower head was level with my shoulders. But other than the gymnastics required to wash my hair, the room was very nice and the beds extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISAR2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken P, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your great comments on your recent stay with us. We also enjoyed having the Miata Car Club at the hotel. Hopefully we will see you and all the Miata's again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
597 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnson City

Address: 101 W Springbrook Dr, Johnson City, TN 37604-1715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range: $94 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Conference Center:·Located just minutes from Science Hill High school, ETSU,and Milligan ·College, Wing Deer Park·Nearby Cinemas, Shopping & Dining·Full Service with Restaurant, Lounge & Room Service·Interior Corridor Rooms with free WiFi·Pet Friendly. Please contact us to see about our special room rates for your group, convention or business. We look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnson City Hotel Johnson City
Johnson City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing