We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Unprofessional & Hateful Front Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnson City
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Unprofessional & Hateful Front Desk Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We are very loving people to almost any & everyone. Although we sure did not get that from holiday inn in Johnson City. Talk about rudeness & very unprofessional. Were promised a microwave & baby crib - (didn't happen) Couldn't even get an extra 2 towels. The housekeeping boy was just snotty saying they were out of linen. When we addressed this to the front desk, i think her name was Jane, she was very rude & upsetting to us. Basically told us that we were not at home & walgreens was down the street!! To beat it all when we think our stay couldn't get any worse, the front desk manager cocked an attitude with us & said she hoped we never came back to (HER PROPERTY) WoW!! We spend good money while on vacation & sure don't appreciate people like Jane & that other young girl who is supposed to be a front desk manager. Just a heads up to all those who may consider this hotel - We won't be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFamilyOfLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blewis_11, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
I do apologize for the lack of standards you received and feel bad
that you were inconvenienced. We take pride not only in our facility but in the service we give to our guest. I am speaking with the General Manager concerning the issues you had with our staff.
If you would like to speak with me directly you can call me [--] or e-mail me blewis@hulsinghotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    39
    37
    20
See reviews for
46
40
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights during our baseball teams World Series a few weeks back. I booked a group of rooms and they were very easy to work with. The pool is HUGE. Much better than your typical triangular hotel pool these days. Rooms were fine. I didn't notice any wear and tear at all. The only down side was that one of the elevators would just randomly stop working.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriemc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Nice staff. Rooms were clean. Sheets were a bit threadbare and bottom sheet didn't stay on if you're doing the hibbety.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenwolfert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed one night with 2 adjoining rooms. I would not stay here again. The tv in one of the rooms had a great selection, the tv in the other room had almost no selection. When I mentioned it to the front desk attendant, she feigned shock but offered only a shrug. She was too busy going outside to have a smoke to bother with me. The pool was too cold to swim in. The breakfast was typical. We drove through Johnson City again 3 weeks later and stayed at The Doubletree by Hilton. It was definitely better than the Holiday Inn, but I can't rave about it either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBeingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blewis_11, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues you had while staying here at our property. I am very sorry that your stay was not a good one. We try very hard to maintain a level of excellance in all areas of our property.
You can be assured that we wil find out why your issues were not delt with and taken care of in a polite and timely mannor. Please call me directly if you should ever come back to the Johnson City area, 423-262-1574 Betty Lewis and I will make sure your next stay is something you can rave about
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johnson City hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Could be a 5 but...
Stayed with a large group for 4 days and restaurant and bar staff seemed overwhelmed. This is a large hotel supposedly oriented for large groups Bed sheets old and bottom sheet kept pulling out so you were on the mattress, wifi quirky, weekend maid did only half
the job.
If these issues were fixed I'd recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSTAsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Spent a week at this hotel as part of a group function. Room was large, clean, quiet.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking pool, third floor of up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajun_girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Regarding Holiday inn Johnson City TN, 101 West Spring Brook Drive Johnson City TN.
My husband and I went there as sort of a romantic getaway. The Comedy Zone was showing in the bar downstairs. (That was the best part of this hotel )He Booked the Executive Suite, even told the front desk at the time he made reservations what we were there for. There were no wine glasses in the room at all. They wouldn't even let us borrow any from the bar downstairs. We had to go out and buy a set and bring it back to the room.The ice maker on our floor was out of order we had to go to the floor below us for ice. The curtains in the room wouldn't draw all the way back. The worst was the maid walked in on us without knocking. Will never go back to that holdiay inn. Will think twice before considering another location as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmary24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blewis_11, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
We do apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced while at our facility. We are not in the habit of having wine glasses in the sleeping rooms, I am at a loss as to why the bar would not let you borrow any from them. I have brought this to the General Managers attention he will take care of the issues to ensure that they do not happen in the future. Please let me know when you plan to visit the area in the future and I will ensure that your stay will be "WONDERFUL".
Thank you
Betty Lewis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnson City

Property: Holiday Inn Johnson City
Address: 101 West Springbrook Drive, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Conference Center:·Located just minutes from Science Hill High school, ETSU,and Milligan ·College, Wing Deer Park·Nearby Cinemas, Shopping & Dining·Full Service with Restaurant, Lounge & Room Service·Interior Corridor Rooms with free WiFi·Pet Friendly. Please contact us to see about our special room rates for your group, convention or business. We look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnson City Hotel Johnson City
Johnson City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing